Sci-Fi Orgy

Ha – that got your attention, didn’t it?  But I meant *reading* orgy.  I messed up my back a couple of weeks ago and I’m still not able to sit at the computer for as long as I could previously.  It’s played merry hell with writing schedule, but I’ve managed to read a lot more.   Finally, I was able to get to a few of my Carina compatriots here on the CIF blog.  They’re all on my TBR, but it’s not like I found a time machine, just a few more hours!

Anyway, I managed to read Lilly Cain’s Alien Revealed, Ella Drake’s Jaq’s Harp, Diane Dooley’s Blue Galaxy and Robert Appleton’s The Mysterious Lady Law.  Awesome books, all of them, and if you haven’t read them yet you should.

The Mysterious Lady Law, though, was of special interest.  It was one of several steampunk books I’ve read recently because I’ve gone and done a very scary thing.  I agreed to join several very talented authors to develop a gay steampunk web serial with weekly posts, called Lords of Aether.  The driving force behind the project is Lex Valentine, and the other authors are Z.A. Maxfield, Stephani Hecht, Jason Edding, Jaime Samms and Charlie Cochrane.  So, I’m in almost daunting company!

Now, I’ve read a few books in the past that could loosely be called steampunk, but it’s been a while.   But I loved the idea of trying, so I grabbed several recent releases to try and figure out what the current trend was.  I have to admit, I was surprised by the number that also had paranormal elements.  I, personally, thought the development of fantastical inventions using Victorian technology more than interesting, so the huge influence of the paranormal took me a little by surprise.

Lords of Aether will have paranormal elements (I think), although I don’t know what they are yet… there’s only been one post so far, and with the round-robin nature of the story, I bet I’m not the only one in the dark!  I’m expecting it to be a lot of fun, and my first post should be in a couple of weeks.  But feel free to check it out now… you don’t want to get too far behind!

KC Burn

8 comments

  1. Cool idea for a serial! I hope your back improves, but if it stays bad for a little while longer, just think of all the great books you’ll devour! No seriously – feel better.

    1. Thanks, Wynter! And yes, extra reading time is totally a silver lining :)

  2. KC, thanks for the heads up on Lords. I’ll have to check it out. I was also surprised to see all the paranormal elements in some of the latest steampunk. I guess it’s the trend now. The idea of a round robin is a cool one. I’ve been involved in several in the past. One was romance, the other was Sci-FI. So much fun!

    1. Oh yes, do check out Lords! I think it will be fun, and I’m hoping it will be a little less scary once I’ve done my first post!

  3. Glad you enjoyed Lady Law, KC! It was my first try at the genre. Right now I’m part way through an ambitious new steampunk series for Carina, titled The Steam Clock Legacy. Book 1 is out in Feb.

    I think steampunk is perfect for round robin! It’s a liquid genre right now, so you can shape it into practically anything you want. That said, while paranormal elements are cool, I really hope they don’t strangle out the science fiction aspects of steampunk. That would be a shame.

    1. That was your first try at steampunk, Robert? Good job! Congrats on your new series! And your thoughts on sci-fi vs paranormal are pretty much how I feel about it. I can see myself keeping my characters either completely paranormal-free or doing something super-crazy with them. Guess I’ll have to see how it goes.

  4. Reading orgies are so much fun! I can’t think of a better way to rest up and let that back heal.

    The web serial sounds cool. I look forward to experiencing it.

    Hope you get to feeling better soon. Take it easy. Continue the book orgy a little longer *grin*

    1. Thanks, Diane! The back is getting better… looks like the book orgy is ending :(

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 908 other followers

