More on Fan Fiction

I know we’ve talked about this before. But the phenomenon fascinates me. Fan fiction—it’s everywhere. For every TV show, book series or movie ever scripted, there seems to be a fan, or many, many fans, who want to take the elements and characters of that world and make it their own. 

Harry Potter, The Heralds of Valdemar, Buffy, Resident Evil, Merlin. Don’t even get me started on the fan fiction craze for a M/M relationship with Merlin and Arthur. I read some of it, and it was very, very good. And ok, now I can’t watch Merlin without knowing exactly why there is such a strong following of that brand of fan fic! I’m watching the show and I’m all, OMG, that’s it, that’s it right there.

Anyway, I’ve just begun working on the fourth and final book for the Confederacy Treaty Series, which got me to thinking about how the series began for me. I was watching NCIS (and yes, there is some fan fiction about that show as well) and I wondered what the show would be like if one of the foiled relationships had actually worked out and also, what it would be like set in space.

I guess day dreaming about things like this is how fan fiction came to be. We want our favorite characters to do what WE want them to do, not what the writers are having them do. After all, do you know how many times during episodes of Moonlighting that I yelled at the TV: “Just sleep together, for God’s sake!” Or how I imagined me and Picard…er, that’s another story.

Maybe that’s the core of it. People imagine themselves in these shows or stories, imagine what they would do if they were the characters. If I could be on any sci-fi show or movie I think it would be the world of the re-booted Star Trek movie. Like the original series, the people in Star Trek are rough and ready, and sexy like Kirk, but without all the sexism. Helllooo, Captain. A million worlds to explore and a ship ready to do it.

What Sci-fi TV Show, Movie or book world would you like to step into? And would you, as a reader, or a writer, ever pen a fan fiction story?

Lilly

www.lillycain.com

Return to Me – coming June 1, 2012

Demon Lover’s Anthology – coming June 1, 2012

Undercover Alliance– Out June 25th, 2012

7 comments

  1. Oh, I’m right there with you! Only, on the Enterprise, it was me and the “fully functional” android Data… On Deep Space 9, it’s me and Gul Dukat…

    Since childhood, I’ve imagined myself in my favorite stories. At four years old, it was Cinderella and Snow White. As an adult, it’s Firefly and Babylon 5.

    A few years ago, I did write some fan-fic scripts for a post-Serenity season two of Firefly — http://www.jlhjewelry.com/2009/04/30/my-firefly-season-2/

    That was fun, but now I enjoy working with my own worlds and characters. :)

  2. I don’t read or write fanfic. It just doesn’t really interest me. Or hasn’t to date. I never say never. But finding inspiration in movies and other books? It’s hard not to! Certainly watching, of all things, Brisco County Jr has given me lots of ideas on writing a weird western sort of thing, ala Wild Wild West.
    One day :)

    1. Yeah, I have a pile of those ‘one day’ ideas, LOL. I have a Steampunk I keep thinking about… :)

  3. I’ve never read or written fanfic but I can certainly see the appeal, Lilly. The Enterprise in Star Trek: TNG would be my favourite imaginary place to live and work. Beverly Crusher would be my doctor. I could beat the crap out of Wesley. And I’d petition Picard to get off his ass and try some real exploring for a change. Exploring, as in…off the map, sir.

    A series I’d like to re-write/have re-written is the Battlestar Galactica reboot. They could have gone on for many more years with those characters and that premise–it was masterful for two, maybe three seasons. Then they got silly with the Who’s A Cylon? subplots and de-railed it. My fanfic would be set during seasons 1 & 2, when it’s all about the chase.

    1. If I wrote ST:TNG fanfic, I would have the crew crash land on a planet with a colony of stylish Cardassian tailors who would overpower them and burn their hideous clothing — possibly after strangling Wesley with one of his awful jumpers.

      1. Hahaha! I think everyone hated Wesley. That’s why it’s so funny to see him as Sheldon’s mortal enemy on The Big Bang Theory! LOL

    2. It’s funny how many of my favorite shows have been de-railed like that. I thought Lost was good for a bit and then what?? And I felt the same for Battlesar Galactica as you, I liked it until I couldn’t tell who was who and, neither, I think, could the writers.

      I’d love to have some fun with TNG. But who has time now to write if it can’t be sent to a publisher? I suddenly find I am too busy. Although one of my favorite crime investigation shows, Bones, featured priominanetly in a dream I had the other night, and it would make a really cool story. I wonder if I could submit to them…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 839 other followers

