Confessions of a Fan-Fic Princess

Okay, I admit it. I am one of those people who has seen every issue of Star Trek (of every generation). And Firefly, Star Wars, Battleship Galactica (both versions) V, and so many more sci-fi shows. And you know what? When the plot doesn’t go the way I want it to go, I imagine my own version of things. I even sometimes write them down. I don’t publish these alternate versions (I am a fan of copyright!) but I enjoy twisting the character’s lives and events. What gives me this right, you ask? How can I possibly make things better than the fantastic writers for these amazing television shows and movies? Well, here’s a hint, I write erotic science fiction and fantasy romance.

Oh yes, I am a Fan-fic Princess. I command all in these stories like royalty. I have put Spock in all sorts of compromising positions, and I have twisted up Captain Picard with a fantastic barbarian warrioress in a fantasy that won’t leave me alone. What, too much information? Sorry – you did catch the erotic part of what I write for Carina Press and other places, right? LOL!

Check out the cover from my first sci-fi romance with Carina Press. This is Alien Revealed, the first novella in my series called The Confederacy Treaty. In this story an alien spy crash lands on earth, right in the middle of a human military base. She’s there to find out about humans – about whether they would be good members of the Confederacy, a group of alien communities. When the humans mistake her as a human psychologist that had been involved in a similar crash she takes the opportunity to learn more. But she isn’t meant to be alone. She needs physical contact to combat the stress she is under. Only one human seems able to reach her through mind contact and meet her needs. Want an excerpt? Go here.

I wish I could put in my cover for Naked Truth, book two from The Confederacy Treaty Series, but it isn’t ready yet. Naked Truth releases June 2011 from Carina Press and I love it, love the dark tones as the treaty negotiations between the Confederacy and the humans begin. Sabotaged from the start, the talks are strained when a human is accused of collaborating with terrorists and must face an alien inquisition. Her memories must be searched by the Inarrii Examiner, and faces possible execution, but she gives everything she has to him to prove her innocence and save the treaty.

I guess my love of fan-fic has paid off – now I publish the stories I think about, although they aren’t about the old Star Trek heroes anymore. If you would like to learn more about my work, and about the books I’ve sold to Carina Press and to Red Sage Publishing, please pop on over to my website at www.lillycain.com. See you there!

Lilly

13 comments

  1. I’m still half in love with Spock. 😉

    Good luck with your series!

  2. It’s funny – I love sci-fi, but fan-fic never even occurred to me until Doctor Who met Captain Jack Harkness 😉 Congrats on the upcoming release!

  3. Hi Charlie, thanks – I am having fun writing book threee right now. 🙂

    Hey KC – you gotta love the idea of Dr. Who and Cap’n Jack. 😉

  4. Michelle Helliwell · · Reply

    I think creating your own endings is a classic “sign you’re a writer”. I love historical and sci-fi for much the same reason – the exoticness of the settings. Alien Revealed was such an awesome book and I can’t wait for the next one. Good luck with it!

    1. Thank You Michelle! I love this series so much. 🙂

  5. Congratulations Lilly. It’s fantastic that you’ve been able to take your love of sci-fi and transfer it into such successful writing. Look forward to seeing the cover of Naked Truth.

    1. Thanks for popping in Bev! I see Sci-fi Romance as a great new playground for me and so many other writers! 🙂

  6. I wrote a proposal once for a Star Trek novel. Needless to say, it didn’t get anywhere. I wrote five futuristic/sci fi romances since then and love blending sci fi with romance.

    1. Star Trek is wickedly hard to get in with – you have to have the science down PAT! But it’s fun to imagine, isn’t it? 😉

  7. That’s a helluva sexy cover.

    1. Thanks – I looove my cover! I can’t wait to see what they do with the next one – I am requesting the same designer – Angela Waters!

  8. ♫♥LovLivLife Reviews♥♫ · · Reply

    Great post!! Alien Revealed is on my must read list. I only recently began reading Sci-fi romance and I’ve fallen in love with the genre!!

    1. Thanks! I love sci-fi romance. 🙂 I’ll let you in on a secret – I am even going to try a much longer book after I finish this series!

Leave a Reply

