Interview & Giveaway! Author Renee Field

Today I am interviewing author Renee Field, who writes erotic romance with Ellora’s Cave (Gasp, yes I know this blog is full of Carina Press authors, but there are SOOO many cool authors writing awesome sci-fi and futuristic stories

that I just have to talk to a few of them!!). Her newest book Beastly Passion releases today and is a fantasy set in the future, a neat trick when you get it right. That, combined with the fact that her books are singe your panties hot, got me thinking she would be great for my first guest. What’s even better – she has a give-away for us today! YAY! Free book time!

And now on to the interview:

 

Lilly: Tell the readers a little bit about you?

 

 

Renee: Hi everyone. I’m so excited to be here. I’m a writer. I know you’re laughing now, but I’ve always been writing. Since I was little I wrote stories, and poems. I love writing romance because I believe in soul love, and love makes the world a better place. I write paranormal, urban fantasy and contemporary along with erotica. I’m also a mom of four children, and at the moment two teens are up for sale – seriously, if I didn’t write I’d drink because teen years while sometimes fun are often not! I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia and have a beautiful view of the harbour. I grew up in a small fishing community on the Eastern Shore of NS and let me just say I have always been different.

 

 

Lilly: What story was the beginning of your writing career?

 

 

Renee: The story that began my writing career is my first Siren story, called Rapture which won a 2008 EPPIE award for Best Fantasy/Paranormal Romance. This story took me three years to write and it is filled with my love for the seas, passion and merfolks. I recently got the rights back to Rapture because my publisher line changed so I’m excited about the possibilities of either self-publishing this or finding a new publisher.

 

 

Lilly: Tell us what makes your stories unique?

 

 

Renee: My stories are unique because I push the envelope and like to create strong-willed women. I love to place my women in new paranormal world and watch them develop.

 

 

Lilly: How did you move into such a futuristic fantasy story?

 

 

Renee: Someone actually asked me what the difference between futuristic fantasy (ff) and sci-fi where and for me futuristic fantasy is more up my alley. FF for me means I can build a fantasy world, like in my release debuting today called Beastly Passion, where my main characters are shifter dragons set in a futuristic world. Sci-fi is much more technical for me with gadgets that are an integral part of a characters make-up – that’s just my view of it but FF is most certainly at the moment what I like to write.

 

 

Lilly: What is your influence behind your plots?

 

 

Renee: I rely on a great network of friends, a critique group and hubby to bounce plot ideas off and honestly, it’s key to a good story. I’m also a member of my local romance group and it has been the best group I have joined both for meeting other like-minded writers and learning the business end of writing. Writing for me is not a hobby it’s the very air I breathe.

 

I am also a mythological junkie. I love to roam my local library for myth stories and since I’m a university history major I’m always digging up new/old texts to read.  Honestly, though more than that I’m a bit of a nerd. Reading science journals is what I do in my spare time and that’s where I get a lot of my story ideas. I like to incorporate science or every day issues into my plot twists like for Rapture I created and undersea plague and for Beastly Passion I have my characters racing to stop a massive earthquake.

 

 

Lilly: Favorite genre you love to write?

 

 

Renee: My favourite genre is off course contemporary paranormal and I like to set it in Atlantic Canada.

 

 

Lilly: What are you writing next?

 

 

Renee: I recently finished a new erotic Siren story I’ve called Claiming Poseidon’s Daughter which I’m starting to shop around and the other night the sequel Claiming Poseidon’s Heart popped into my head. These are both short stories so my major work I’m finishing editing is my epic dark fairy saga set in Cape Breton, NS.

 

Thanks again for taking the time to visit and check out my site at www.reneefield.com or twitter me @Pararomance

 

Thanks for visiting Renee! And thanks for offering one of our lucky readers a copy of Beastly Passion. Readers: Just comment below to enter your name for a super hot futuristic fantasy ebook!

 

Lilly

15 comments

  1. Sounds like a cool story – I love dragons!

    1. Thanks KC for stopping by and yes it’s way cool. Between writing about merfolk, and the fey, I think dragons will be my new love – Renee

  2. Congratulations Renee! What a great cover . Enjoyed hearing more about your writing. Thanks Lilly.

  3. Renee,

    I love how you combine fantasy and science – and make it ultra hot! Congrats on your new release as well as your plans to self-pub your first Siren story!

  4. Congrats on the new book Renee! Great interview, really enjoyed it.

  5. Congrats on the new release, Renee – that cover is HOT! Good luck with re-pubbing your first story, too.

  6. Hi All!

    Just thought I would let you know that I am keeping the comments area open all weekend. Feel free to leave a comment to get in on a chance to win a free copy of Renee’s new release!

    Lilly

  7. Amber Leigh · · Reply

    Congrats on the new release! Can’t wait to read it 🙂

  8. Congrats Renee! You certainly derserve it. Review was terrific. Will certainly have to read it! 🙂

  9. Viki S. · · Reply

    I’ve just started to like dragons in the past year or so. This sounds good. I wish you much success.

  10. Thanks for a great interview Lilly and Renee, and thanks for a great contest. I’d love to read ff about shapeshifting dragons;).

    Tina

    1. Tina – you are the lucky winner of an e-copy of Beastly Passion – please email me at rbfield@eastlink.ca so I can forward you a copy. Thanks again for dropping by.

      Renee Field
      http://www.reneefield.com

  11. Ok, had issues with commenting and apologise if I commented twice. Congrats Renee, the story sounds fabulous. Thanks for the interview and the great prize.

    1. No problem Tina – sometimes the internet does wild and wonderful things. 😉
      Lilly

  12. Well – great news Tina – you are the winner of Renee’s book Beastly Passions! She will be contacting you to send you the ebook, congratulations!

    Lilly

Leave a Reply

