Valentines in Space!

Here it is, February, and I had to debate whether I was going to talk about the coldness of space as related to the dreadful freeze-your-butt-off weather here in Nova Scotia, Canada, or Valentine’s Day. I love Valentines, and I hate the current weather, so we all know how I made my choice. 🙂

Want to be my Space Mate?

Over the years Valentines have had many formats, from candy boxes to flowers with specific messages, to printed cards and lately, e-cards. Personally I like a printed card. What does this all have to do with sci-fi and fantasy? Not much I’ll admit, except that I wonder in the future what format these expressions of admiration and love will take. I hate electronic cards as they are now. But how might they appear in the future?

I envision 3D holograms, maybe sent through Lisa’s superfluids, or a zero calorie chocolate bar (because we know for sure they don’t exist NOW).

Starman - Interspecies Romance

There might be a chance for an interspecies romance, or dinner at the latest spot in orbit.

What I really want is the ability to slip through time as well as space and enjoy valentines in the past. A day in Rome perhaps? An evening in a flapper joint in the roaring ‘20’s? Oh yes please. And then a day a thousand years from now where nothing at all is familiar and my present might be a chocolate experience the envolopes all my senses yet drops five pounds off my backside. 😉

What would be your choice for a Valentine’s Day celebration in the future?

Lilly Cain
www.lillycain.com
Alien Revealed – Carina Press
Building Magic – Red Sage Presents

For more vintage valentines check out www.vintagevalentinemuseum.com

13 comments

  1. I’ll take Starman as my Valentine, thank you very much. 😛

    1. Me too – I think an otherworldly lover would be amazing, especially one with a healing touch! 🙂

  2. Great blog post! I envision something like the holodeck on the Enterprise where you can whisk your beloved to their favorite place and provide them with their every desire. Sigh.

    1. And a bevy of Enterprise captains at my command. Yummy. LOL! I actually hope someday we will have that kind of holographic control although I wonder how they could manage the touch and scents.

      1. I think there’s a commandment somewhere that all Enterprise captains must be hot.

      2. Absolutely – who’s your favorite? For me it is a toss up between Picard and Archer. 🙂

  3. Let’s here it for the zero calorie chocolate!!

    1. Have you ever had one of those chocolate baths at the spa? They’re zero calorie decadence but I come out craving brownies!!

    2. I agree – that’s where my vote goes!

  4. I’d love to go tour an ancient alien artifact on a distant planet. Minus the face sucker, though.

    1. Oh an alien sight seeing tour. 🙂 That could be romantic. But apparently head gear is usually required.

  5. Clearly, it’s Jean-Luc, Lilly. All that experience…

    1. Mmmm, that’s what I thought too. And he has a romantic nature, and that air of command!

Leave a Reply

