Apocalypse

So, lately I’ve gotten into Jericho, a show I apparently completely missed when it aired back in 2006-2007. It concerned a small town in central Kansas that witnessed nuclear attacks on 23 American cities, and the aftermath of those attacks. It was actually a pretty good show, and I watched both existing seasons in the space of about a week.

This sounds odd to admit, but I’m kind of a fan of nuclear apocalypse fiction. Just like some people are way into zombies, I enjoy the stories of how people survive and rebuild after their whole way of life has been destroyed. I grew up in the Cold War, though, so that might have something to do with it. We (thought) we were under the constant threat of nuclear attack from the Soviet Union in those days, so there’s an instant shortcut into my psyche for those kinds of stories.

The best nuclear apocalypse movie I think I’ve seen, though, was an early-1980s TV movie called The Day After, which focused on the survivors of a nuclear strike on Kansas City, most of them clustered in and around Lawrence, Kansas. (I wonder why Kansas is the destination of choice for nuclear apocalypse fiction, anyway?) Unlike Jericho, there wasn’t much focus on finding out who planned the attacks so much as there was a focus on the aftermath and reconstruction.

So, what’s the best story in the apocalypse/post-apocalypse genre you’ve found? I know there are some out there that I still need to discover. Lay ’em on me in the comments!

12 comments

  1. I watched a couple of episodes of Jericho, but never really got into it for some reason. Why Kansas? Because it’s in the middle of the country? Because someone wanted to see just how flat they can *really* get it? (btw, I think there was a study that proved Kansas really is flatter than a pancake 🙂 )

    I haven’t read many post-apoc, so I can’t help you there. Would love to expand my genre base 🙂

  2. I loved the cheesy post apoc movies of the 70s and 80s, but I’m still looking for a good novel. Hope some of the other readers have ideas. I’d love to hear them!

  3. Monica · · Reply

    I’m a fan of post apocalyptic that has nothing to do with zombies. Really, isn’t shit bad enough in a post-apocalyptic setting without Starbucks? We have to add in the flesh-eating undead too?

    As for a favorite, I have to admit, I’m a huge fan of the recent computer-animated film 9. It tells the story from the point of view not of surviving humans, but of the things that survived the humans.

    In a book series, I love the manga series Battle Angel, which shows the survival of the human race long after an apocalypse-style incident. The first nine books are the best part, and not only mix the post-apocalyptic setting, but also science fiction and the Japanese graphic art style.

    1. You know, I’ve actually read the Battle Angel series. I heard that James Cameron has been planning to adapt that one for a while. I kind of hope not.

      1. Monica · ·

        Cameron would only ruin it. I appreciate the man for Terminator, but Dances With Catsmurfs just destroyed any faith I had in him. Also, I hated Titanic.

        Plus, some things just aren’t meant to be filmed. Kishiro’s Battle Angel, I think, is one of them.

  4. I tried Jericho, and despite my fondness of Skeet Ulrich, I was never able to finish watching it. As for the best post-apocalyptic… MY OWN! 🙂 Seriously, I have one that is totally my baby, gathering dust under the bed, so to speak, and for whatever reason, I seem to have blocked out memories of any other. Sad and pathetic, I know.

  5. Well, at least no one said “The Road.” Not that it’s a bad book, but I’m just sick of hearing about it. 😉

  6. About the only post apocalyptic show I ever got into was the redux of Battlestar Galactica, but it wasn’t about us here and now, so that made it easier for me to enjoy. Like Monica, I really don’t want to think about *my world* without Starbucks. Having said that, the only post apocalyptic novel I’ve enjoyed would be Kay Kenyon’s Maximum Ice.

    1. The “new” (or as I like to think of it, the “good”) BSG is a great example. That one pulled me in from pretty much the first ten minutes.

  7. I read Alas Babylon in high school and it HOOKED me on post-apoc. I love the details like being overrun with armadillos because they have no natural predators. Without gasoline, no cars and voila. Lots of armadillos. Brilliance I tell you. I’m like you, I’ve got a fascination for people’s will to survive and how truly creative they (and the authors) get. PS I hated the Road. I prefer a little more optimism I guess. I did like Jericho and watched it religiously.

    1. I’ve never read Alas Babylon. I’m starting tonight. Yay! Thanks for the suggestion!

  8. A Boy and his Dog (novella/movie) is a quirky look at a post-apocalyptic Earth. Oft hated, but I kind of like it.

Leave a Reply

