Blue Galaxy: A Most Unusual Romance Novel

Today is the official release day for my science fiction/romance novella, Blue Galaxy.

It’s somewhat unusual for a romance novel in that it’s told entirely from the perspective of the male main character, Captain Javan Rhodes. I didn’t plan to write it that way. It just sort of happened. I opened the story in his POV and just never found the right time and place to switch over to the female main character’s POV, as I would typically do when writing a romance.

The result is…different. The reader never, not once, gets to know what is going on in the head of Sola. And that allows for some twists and turns in the story that the reader never sees coming. On the flip side, though, the reader never gets to clearly understand her motivations: everything she says and does is seen through the filter of Javan’s impressions and reactions.

Here’s a short excerpt:

Javan had an idea. “Hell, I could teach you how to fly the ship if it’ll help fill the time.”

She whirled around, her mouth a perfect O. She approached him and, touching his arm, stared into his face. “You’d be giving me a great gift. It would be a fulfillment of my childhood dream and…would keep me occupied.” She dropped her hand and walked

away. “Tell me. Where are you taking me?”

“You don’t know?”

She shook her head mutely.

So that was why he was being paid so much. She was being smuggled off Earth and married to an unknown suitor. Not just illegal, but also immoral. Javan turned to the viewscan. “I don’t know the destination.”

“Where have you charted a course for? You must have an idea of where we’re going.”

“I won’t receive the final destination until we reach the general vicinity.”

“And the general vicinity is?”

It was the beseeching quality of her voice that did it. That and his unease about her situation. “The outer rim. Victor Quadrant.”

She was silent but raised her eyebrow.

“Victor Quadrant has two barely habitable planets, three lunar bases and three space stations. I’m not for sure on much more than that, except…”

“Except?”

“Well, that quadrant has a reputation.”

She waited.

“It was the last quadrant to be colonized. It’s still very…”

“Very what?”

“Volatile,” he said carefully.

My husband was, as always, my first reader and I was most definitely trying to write a romance novel that my lovely sci fi geek husband could enjoy. I knew I was succeeding when he kept asking me to leave the evening’s writing up on the computer so he could read the latest excerpt when he got home from work. He enjoyed it; maybe you will too!

So, if unusual romance novels or pulpy space opera are on your list of things you like to read, get thee to one of the following places to pick yourself up a copy: Carina Press for all e-pub formats, Amazon for Kindle, Barnes and Noble for Nook or Audible.com for audio version. Book bloggers/reviewers can request a free review copy from Netgalley.

A couple of juicy tidbits:

I am interviewed by the hilarious Gini Koch here, and we are also giving away a couple of free copies of Blue Galaxy.

And here I am being interviewed by a rather surly Javan Rhodes.

And last, but not least, I want to give a shout-out to my release day buddy, fellow Carina author, Maria Zannini, whose book, Apocalypse Rising, is also being released today.


12 comments

  1. Downloaded & ready to go. Funny you should mention Gini – I’m in the beginning of her #2 now. I’ll start you when I’m done with that 🙂 Congrats!

    1. I’ve got Gini’s #3 saved for an upcoming camping trip, so I can hide out in a peaceful spot and read it uninterrupted. *grin*

  2. Congrats on the release, Diane! I have Blue Galaxy at the top of my Kindle queue. I love the idea of a romance through the hero’s eyes.

    Have fun camping and reading 🙂

    1. Thanks, Cathy. Hope you enjoy the story!

  3. […] also blogging today at my group blog: Contact- Infinite Futures, and am interviewed by Gini Koch at her blog, also featuring a giveaway of two copies of Blue […]

  4. Hi Diane! Congratulations on the release!! It sounds really fresh. I will reward myself by downloading it after I finish the WIP (Hopefully this weekend). Enjoy the day!

    Lilly

    1. Hope you enjoy it, Lilly.

      Good luck with the WIP!

  5. Congrats!!! Sorry I’m a little late with the well wishes!
    I’ve bought & downloaded & hankering to read!

    1. Thanks, Ella! I’ve got Jaq’s Harp ready to go this weekend. It’s my reward if I ever get through this mountain of laundry!

  6. Congrats on the new release!! (I’m horribly behind in my blog browsing)
    Looks awesome!

    1. Thanks, KC.

      I apologize. I recently told you we were already friends on Goodreads, but I’m afraid I had you confused with KS (Augustin) Have now sent a friend request.

  7. […] Blue Galaxy: A Most Unusual Romance Novel […]

Leave a Reply

