Space Shuttle Endeavor Away!


Photo from Business Insider

The space shuttle Endeavour launched this morning from Kennedy Space center at 8:56 a.m. EDT. Now on its way to the International Space Station, this is the shuttle’s final flight. During the 16-day mission, Endeavour will deliver the Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer (AMS), which is a “particle physics experiment module that is to be mounted on the International Space Station.” It’s main function is to measure cosmic rays in the hunt for dark matter.

I’m a little sad that this is Endeavor’s last flight and that the shuttle program itself is coming to an end. However, NASA is set to receive a budget increase of six billion dollars in the next few years, so hopefully a new program is just around the corner. I wish I could have watched the launch live this morning, but that wasn’t possible. How about you?

4 comments

  1. I didn’t see it either. It is a bit sad the program is on the way out. This is THE space program of my formative years. I was a bit too young for the initial orbital flights and the moon landing, even those flights in the 70’s aren’t really clear. But the shuttle program hit as my interest in science bloomed. Hopefully the new influx of cash will see us boldly going…somewhere! I’d love for my kids to have a space program of their own. (Hey, SETI was axed as far as funding goes. Do you think NASA will share? : )

  2. I’ll miss the shuttle, but I’m excited to see what will come next.

  3. We tried to watch it from the office, but for a change, it wasn’t visible — a little too cloudy! It is sad the program is ending.

  4. It does make me sad. I saw they’re going back to the idea of launching rockets and capsules coming back down into the ocean. Be interesting to see how the new budget gets used.

Leave a Reply

