The Naked Truth – About Language

The Naked Truth released this week at Carina Press! And, it released as an audible title at Audible.com! As book two in a sci-fi series, I had already developed some of the language that the Inarrii speak. As members of the Confederation, a conglomeration of races from around the nearer part of our universe, they are the most like us, so I guess it isn’t surprising that when we read the Inarrii words we put an accent on them that seems familiar yet different to us.

Check out this sample of Alien Revealed as an audible book at audible.com and listen to how the narrator reads the Inarrii words – sounds like Russian to me!

Tel sho ahoi – sos signal

Tel sho ahoi sho amnetii – sos ship down

Sho Amnetii Gohan yi – ship self destruct

The Sample of The Naked Truth is read by a different narrator. I’m not sure how she will handle the alien language. But the sample is great anyway – check it out here (click on the sample button under the image, unfortunately I can’t link directly to the audible sound link).

In The Naked Truth I use some of the words from Alien Revealed, and some new ones. I can’t wait to listen to the whole thing – but I’m saving it as a treat for after I finish edits of my third book. J

From the Inarrii dictionary:

Inar choksan – attention, official addressing

Inar sho sahiir – ship responding

Sho’tet – fighter ship, literally a flying blade

Writing a new language has been a lot of fun. I may have to do it again sometime. But for now the Inarrii dictionary is growing one story at a time.

Lilly

www.lillycain.com

6 comments

  1. Oooh, audible – very cool! Congrats on your release. I’m looking forward to reading it.

    1. Thanks KC! The audible versions are really cool. Hearing my own words is a bit bizarre, but in a good way. 🙂

  2. Impressive, Lilly. Creating a language–that has to be the ultimate worldbuilding tool. I’ve never tried it, but I can imagine how good it feels if you pull it off. WTG! That audible excerpt was gripping.

    1. Thanks Robert! I think Audible did a great job!

  3. I can’t imagine trying to invent a language. Wow. Go, you!

    1. Thanks Diane. I am really happy with the result, but it was a lot of work, making sure the language works. 🙂

Leave a Reply

