In search of Science Fiction

I went to New York City last week in search of SF at the Romance Writers of America’s National Conference. I found it before I even got inside the hotel!Bumblebee from Transformers 3

Transformers 3 premiered in Times Square and look! There’s Bumblebee! Right in front of my hotel! (click for larger image).

During the conference, I did find some SF here and there. The FF&P chapter’s annual Gathering, with superhero theme. Met some SFR authors including mima, JC Hay, Kathleen Scott, KC Burn, Lisa Paitz Spindler (my roomie), Nico Rosso, Zoe Archer and many more.

One great bit of news was from our own Carina Press. 10% of the upcoming release schedule from Carina will be SF! I’m so excited for the coming year & am happy by search for SF will be that much easier!

Unfortunately, I just didn’t take great notes during this conference & don’t have much else to report.

Next up, I know I’ll find plenty of SF to fulfill my needs at Readercon, which I’ll be attending in two weeks. This is a reader focused conference for Science Fiction & I’ll report back with much better note-taking.

See you in a few weeks!

***

Ella Drake is a dark paranormal and science fiction romance author. You can find her on Twitter, Facebook, & Goodreads.

Her Science Fiction Romance, Braided Silk is coming soon. Currently available SFR: Silver Bound, Jaq’s Harp, & Firestorm on E’Terra

6 comments

  1. Can’t blame you for not taking gobs of notes at Nationals, Ella. Things do tend to get busy 🙂

    We just saw the Transformers movie. DD#2 was disappointed in some of the changes, but since I hadn’t seen the first ones, I had no opinion. It was loud, that’s about all I can say 🙂

    Good news about Carina’s 10% of releases! Go Team SF/SFR!

    And congrats on the upcoming release!

    1. Yes! Go Team SF/SFR!!!!
      and thank you!

  2. Looking forward to your report from Readercon and to reading Braided Silk. And, ooh! I haven’t read Firestorm on E’Terra yet, either.

    1. I’ll be taking notes at Readercon & hope to hear something completely scintillating and interesting!
      Thank you & wow did I enjoy writing Firestorm on E’Terra. I think I’ll have to visit that world again.

  3. Woo-hoo! More SFR! It was great seeing you again, and meeting Lisa in person (I swear, I’m still recuperating from the conference). Have fun at Readercon.

  4. My debut novel, cyberpunk thriller “Stellarnet Rebel,” will be in that 10%. Not only am I thrilled about being published with Carina Press, but I’m happy to hear they’re doing more SF. When I was first offered the book deal, back in March, my friends looked at the CP website and asked if my book was going to be called “Live Long and Perspire” or “Breathless in Space.” Or my personal favorite, “His Heart Was Set on Stun.” lol

Leave a Reply

