Alphas

Anyone watching SyFy’s new show Alphas?  And yes, I know I watch a lot of TV — I’m surprised my brain hasn’t melted out of my ears.  Writing?… oh,  yeah, I fit that into the commercials sometimes… 😉

Anyway, I’m not really sold.  It’s been two episodes now and I still can’t remember anyone’s name!  Not a good sign.

The old guy is a little too passive.  The hot, angry guy lost his anger waaaaaaay too fast.  The strong guy… seriously?  The strong guy?  Couldn’t they come up with something else?  I like the guy who can see the electromagnetic spectrum, but I suspect he could easily get annoying.  And who thought it was a good idea to have three women who all have long, dark hair?  I can’t tell them apart right now.

For now, Alphas has a stay of execution in my TV schedule.  I usually give questionable shows 2 or 3 episodes, because pilots often suck.  Alphas might get 4 because it‘s so hard for me to give up on a sci-fi show.  Nevertheless, combined with Eureka and Warehouse 13 (love, love, love both of those), Monday night is a great sci-fi night.

KC Burn

7 comments

  1. Frankly I thought it was meh. Enough so that it lost me during commercials and I started watching Haven re-runs. Doubt this one will make it. I think you have caught all the points that make it so blah. No one really stands out. There is no real imagination!

    1. Meh — yes, that’s the perfect word to describe how I felt about it!

  2. Hot, angry guy is just hot now? Sigh. I have the second ep on Tivo to watch yet. I enjoy it when writers take advantage of the possibilities in science fiction to cast characters against type, but that’s not happening so far in Alphas.

    In other words, it would have been more interesting to me if Nina and Cameron’s powers were flipped. Also, while I appreciate that they’ve incorporated minorities into the ensemble cast, they lose a lot of points by making the hulking sort of angry dude the black guy. Just saying. I’d much rather see Rachel with the flight or fight strength and Bill with the synesthesia.

    I agree with not putting too much stock in pilots, but right now they’re playing into stereotypes instead of using the juxtaposition for conflict. Incidentally, this is what made Buffy so brilliant — the cute little blond cheerleader who you’d never expect could actually kick supernatural arse.

    1. I agree. I think if they’d done it so something about the big guy’s powers made him delicate in some way, that would have been more interesting than the way it’s been set up, or just flipping the powers between them. Honestly, I’d be just as happy if super heroes never had super strength… it’s about the most boring superpower ever.

  3. I think I might be a little more enthused about the show than you all 🙂 While I do agree with a lot of what you’ve said (sterotypes, meh powers for some) I do find it interesting. What I want to see, however, is a little less “Alpha vs. New Alpha” and some more use of their abilities to do something a bit more…I don’t know…relevant? Solve some crime. Make Congress figure out this debt ceiling garbage. Something.

    I’ll give it a few more episodes too, but if it becomes the same-old-same-old, my Monday nights will end early 😛

    1. I waited until I saw this week’s episode before replying. It’s on thin ice, let me tell you. I don’t want to give anything away, but seriously, how about a trank gun? C’mon. There were a number of scenes that should NEVER have happened with a group aware of the Alpha abilities.

      1. I only half watched this week’s episode because the promo looked like they were still in “find other Alphas” mode. Hopefully next week will be better or I might have to ditch it sooner rather thatn later 😛

        Yes, an Alpha-ized trank gun would be good 🙂

Leave a Reply

