Goodbye Space Shuttle, We Salute You

Atlantis? Early this morning, before dawn, the last space shuttle landed. After 135 flights, there will be no more. Now I am Canadian, and not American, but this image brings some pretty sad thoughts.

The Space Shuttle program has been in operation for thirty years.Canadahas given a good bit of our technology and people to the program and it has been a matter of pride as well as scientific exploration for all involved.

Check out this video of the last flight:

Now, where do we go from here? I’ve heard lots of theories, and the International Space Station is still active, but unless we borrow a lift, we have no immediate access to the station. There are talks of exploring asteroids and heading for Mars, but I don’t think there has been anything specifically planned other than a new Mars Rover and the probe aimed for Jupiter.

I admit I am a little plaintive, but I must wonder—when will we move on and upward? And how?

Before I get too melancholy, I want to put up one more video – a tribute to the shuttle program (love this one!)

Lilly

Alien Revealed – Book One of The Confederacy Treaty – June 2010

The Naked Truth – Book Two of The Confederacy Treaty – June 2011

 For more information about Lilly Cain, and for excerpts of her stories please visit www.lillycain.com. You can also follow her on Twitter at www.twitter.com/LillyCain or on Facebook at www.facebook.ca/Lilly_Cain

2 comments

  1. My oldest daughter and I watched the Atlantis launch (and spent more than a few minutes afterward watching Mission Control). It was an amazing moment. The shuttle program has always existed for her, but I remember the thrill of its first launch.

    I hope NASA or some such agency continues their missions. I have a budding astrobiologist who’ll need a job : )

  2. I guess space exploration is going to the private sector. I’m taking a ‘wait and see’ attitude. Other countries still have space programs. Maybe Mars will be planted with a Chinese flag. Only time will tell.

Leave a Reply

