Until The End Of The World

Until The End Of The World’ is a 1991 film directed by Wim Wenders and starring Sam Neill, William Hurt and the late Solveig Dommartin, with supporting performances from Jeanne Moreau and Max von Sydow. Hell of a cast, huh?

 

Mostly a critical and commercial failure at the time of its release it has since acquired cult status and I, Diane Dooley, am a diehard member of the cult. It’s a hard film to categorize: part science fiction, part road movie, part romance, part family drama, part love triangle. And it’s long. The commercially available version is 160 minutes. The director’s cut, which I’ve never had the opportunity to see, is 280 minutes long.

 

Why do I love it so? I think it must be the Wim Wenders connection. Two other of his films —Paris,Texas and Wings of Desire – are both high on my favorite films list. All three films unfurl slowly, they’re emotionally wrenching and exquisitely filmed. They’re most certainly not to everyone’s taste and I’m not really sure why they resonate so deeply with me, though an abiding love of the tragic is probably part of it.

 

My favorite part of ‘Until The End Of The World’ is the road movie section, where a beautiful and smitten woman chases the mysterious man she loves around the globe. It was filmed in seven countries on four continents, beginning in Italy and ending in the Australian Outback. I suppose it
could be said that our planet is one of the stars of the film.

 

This film has been on my mind a lot recently and not just because the amazing soundtrack is an almost permanent fixture in my player. The second part of the film focuses on a scientist’s invention of a camera that is able to record dreams. Sounds impossible, doesn’t it? But the technology is almost there. See for yourself.

 

Scientists use brain imagery to reveal the movies in our mind.

 

This is a still from the dream camera in the film.

 

 

 

 

7 comments

  1. Huh. I’ve never seen this (and I adore Sam Neill). I’ll have to add it to the list, although, given the way my month is going, it could be sometime next year before I get to it! And the dream camera is very cool – I could use one of those!

  2. Oh, Sam Neill is just lovely in it. Preferred him to the William Hurt character by a mile.

  3. Sounds like a fun flick! Will have to check it out.

    1. Surprised you haven’t seen it!

  4. mrclriggs · · Reply

    The 280-min version can be found online, though not necessarily from reputable sources. It is the most definitive version of this film, which is really three films in one. The story and character arcs are at their most complete here, and in my opinion it’s the only real way to see this film. Wenders stretches the canvas as much as it can be, and it deserves to be seen as he originally cut it.

    1. I really wish there was an official release version for the US. I’d love to revisit the characters and stories at length.

      1. mrclriggs · ·

        Unfortunately the only way to get the full version is thru file sharing. I found the 280-min version thru Graboid.

Leave a Reply

