Do I Really Need That?

Next week I’ll be heading to the Big City for a few medical appointments. Chances are great that I’ll be having my gallbladder removed. (Not fun, but not nearly the major surgical procedure my mother went through forty years ago.  Where she spent a seek in the hospital, had difficulty getting around for a while, and now sports a 14” scar, I’ll be out in less than a day, have three or four little incisions, and go home with a few Band-Aids and a bottle of Ibuprofin.) This isn’t the first body part I’ll have removed. I had wisdom teeth taken out while in college and some troublesome…ahem…girl parts were disposed of a few years ago. I have kept some original inventory that many others have had removed: tonsils, adenoids, appendix.

Some of the organs/parts we have don’t seem to serve much of a function nowadays. This http://science.discovery.com/top-ten/2008/organs/organs.html is a nice rundown. Will humans eventually evolve without some of them? Will we lose more body hair but gain head hair because shampoo companies and The Hair Club for Men will convince us we must breed with full-hair-headed mates?

And what about organs like my troublesome gallbladder? Sure, it’s useful in digesting fats, but I can live without it. With enough time, and maybe a drastic change in diet, will it eventually become like the appendix? (Side note: I would LOVE to be able to do a pre-emptive removal of useless organs that are only remaining to cause trouble. That’s right, I’m looking at you appendix and gallbladder!)

So if these leanings of evolution continue, perhaps eventually humans will be smooth-bodied (but with flowing head hair), appendix- and gallbladder-free, and 28-toothed.

What else do you see us possibly losing in our future? What organ might develop/increase? (let’s keep it clean, people)

12 comments

  1. barbaralongley · · Reply

    I think our texting/keyboarding digits will do…something, but I don’t know what. They’d have to stay small to hit the keys properly. Organs? I just hope we keep the fun ones!

    1. I agree, Barbara! I think we’ll eventually develop little protrusions on our thumbs to make texting easier.

      And yes, keep the fun bits! 😉

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I don’t know about organs, but I think our lives would be a heck of a lot easier without nerves connected to our teeth. I mean teeth are there to crush stuff–do they really need feelings?

    Hope the op goes well, Cathy. It will take gall, but you can do it. (yep, kill me now hehe!)

    1. I could do without nerve endings in my teeth, yes.

      RE: gall–Oh, Robert. Really? 🙂 But thanks. I’m sure it’ll be a grand time.

  3. I think it has become fashionable to go spleen-less these days. I know of several that have had them removed. I understand that in addition to removing wisdom teeth, some actresses have had molars removed to gain that ‘sunken’ cheek look.

    You can have my gallbladder, Cathy.

    1. Is that the next “one-upmanship” conversation? “Well, I had my spleen AND wisdom teeth removed. You must try it, darling!” 😉

      Thanks for the gallbladder offer. I’ll let you know 🙂

  4. I think that I could live without my toenails. No. Strike that. I KNOW I could live without my toenails.

    Good luck with the op, Cathy. Don’t forget to rest up and take it easy afterwards.

    1. Toenails? Interesting. Though I really only pay attention to mine when they need trimming or painting 🙂

      Thanks, I will stay off my feet as long as I can get away with, which won’t be long, I’m sure 😛

  5. I’m short. I hope we get extendable legs, and arms. Those high shelves in supermarkets — lets just say they strain my hunter-gatherer skills 🙂

    Hope your op goes smoothly, Cathy. Take care 🙂

    1. Jenny, I *knew* I was vertically challenged for a reason! Except I don’t hunt and gathering hurts my back. Oy!

      Thanks for the good thoughts. I’m sure it’ll be fine 🙂

  6. Best wishes with the surgery, hope it goes well and fast and you’re back at the keyboard double quick!

    1. Aw thanks 🙂 I’m sure I’ll be up and typing pretty soon afterward.

Leave a Reply

