I should be…

Twitter is, it has to be said, has within it an endless supply of…stuff. If it’s happened, happening or going to happen it’ll explode on Twitter first. I love it for that reason. And I also love it for the fact that there have been ideas that have slammed me upside the head from it too.

This week’s comes from a tweep, @LettersofNote, who dedicates his time to linking to the moving or the fabulously bizarre letters from famous people. Tesla’s note paper, for instance, or Stanley Kubrick’s list of titles in search of a script. The one that grabbed me was an email from Teller–from Penn and Teller–to a then struggling magician, Brian Brushwood.

It got me thinking about how I grew as a writer and who inspires me. As Teller said:

You will never be the first Brian Allen Brushwood of magic if you want to be Penn & Teller.  But if you want to be, say, the Salvador Dali of magic, we’ll THERE’S an opening.

When I first started writing SFR a long, long time ago, I wanted to be Anne McCaffery. I think I inhaled everything, with the exception of the ships and the cats… 😉 I wrote hideously bad stories in homage to her books. I think I still have them somewhere, buried under several feet of concrete. But she inspired me to put the words down. And I did. On endless sheets of paper.

I wrote, and wrote, and read, and found other inspirations, such as Robert Browning’s poems, packed out with villains and pyschopaths. Leonardo da Vinci’s notebooks and paintings. Picasso. Hockney. I was an art student. Staring at paintings was ‘work’ :D. As Teller points out:

I should be a film editor.  I’m a magician.

I should be a painter. I’m a writer. And what I should’ve been, does influence how I write.

Do you know who you should’ve been? Or who inspires you outside the world of SF or whatever genre you write in?

Oh, and you can read the whole email here.  I loved how Teller remembered Brian was his bastard son… 😀

—–

Kim Knox  brews sex, magic, darkness and technology in a little corner of North West England. She writes erotic science fiction and fantasy romance for Carina Press, Ellora’s Cave, Samhain Publishing, Cleis Press and others.

SYNTHETIC DREAMS, BITTER HARVEST and ONCE A THIEF are coming soon from Carina Press.

—-

(Image from Memory Palace)

15 comments

  1. Penn & Teller *and* Tesla all in the same post? Heaven.

    1. *grin* Glad you approve!

  2. Inspirational post, Kim!! Wow. I’m floored and inspired. Gotta go write!

    1. Thanks, Dawn. Yes, you have to write… Does it involve cowboys?? *looks hopeful*

      1. It involves wolves, menage, and some serious BDSM. Cowboys are a March project!

      2. It involves wolves, a menage, and dark lust.

        Cowboys is on my list for March! 😀

      3. ooOOOoo, even better! 😀

  3. Great post, Kim! Just what I needed to kick off my Friday. 🙂

    1. Thanks, Lacey, glad it helped you 🙂

  4. Honestly? I should be either a trick rider, or a timed event contestant in rodeo — because that’s what my family is/does. But instead, I’m very much different, and love it that way. 😀

    1. That’s awesome, Sidney! And what that brings to your writing has to be incredible <–is totally envious 🙂

  5. Fantastic post, Kim! I just read that Teller e-mail and I’m floored with how he lives within the contrasts. Great stuff!

    1. Thanks, Sela. Isn’t his email amazing? I’ve been pondering it all week, so I had to post about it 🙂

  6. I should have been a music producer…Music flows through my body and soul..

    1. I’m so envious, Savannah. I’m totally tone deaf! lol

Leave a Reply

