Pirates and Bounty Hunters…In Spaaaaace.

Do you know that game when, after eating your Chinese food, you open up your fortune cookie and read it, then add “in bed” to the end of it? My most recent one? “Hard work will get you wherever you want to go…in bed.” Hmm. I don’t know if I want my funtimes between the sheets to sound quite so like a career.

My most recent way to amuse my tiny little mind is to add “in spaaaaace” to various pronouncements. For example: “Yes, darling, I’d love for you to take me out to lunch…in spaaaaace.” Yeah, I did say I had a tiny mind, didn’t I? The husband and kids are hoping this phase passes quite soon, though they do remember the many months it took them to break me of the habit of saying “I will exterminate you” in a Dalek voice.

Back to the pirates and bounty hunters. Mako’s Bounty, my most recent science fiction romance, released from Decadent Publishing last week. Here’s the blurb:

For nine long months, at the behest of the evil Ravenscorp, Mako Dolan has been hunting the space pirate they call The Saint. Now she’s finally lured her prey to a one night stand with a mysterious woman—herself. But Vin Sainte is not at all what she expected. Far from being a ruthless space pirate, his main occupation seems to be rescuing nuns, adopting orphans and praying like a champ.

For nine long months Vin Sainte has been fleeing the bounty hunter from one temporary refuge to the next. Now he’s got Mako exactly where he wants her: weak from gravity sickness and ripe for conversion. Problem is he didn’t expect a foul-mouthed, hard-as-nails bounty hunter to be such a devoted daughter. His head on a platter is Ravenscorp’s price for her mother’s freedom.

They have less than twenty four hours. One will win; one will lose. Mako might be a fearsome predator, but Vin has the Lord on his side. Who will win the bounty?

I’m happy to give away a pdf copy of Mako’s Bounty to a reader of this blog. Just leave a comment. And don’t forget to add “in bed” or “in  space” to your comment. I know, I know, I know. I’m a goofball.

* * * * *
Mako’s Bounty can be purchased from Decadent PublishingAmazon and all the usual online retailers.  It’s a short, sexy, humorous read. Don’t you deserve a laser blast of pure escapism?
You can keep tabs on Diane Dooley, should you choose to accept that challenge, on her blog,  Facebook  or Twitter
8 comments

  1. lakeofglass · · Reply

    I saw this from JL Hilton’s Facebook. The fact you used to impersonate a Dalek is just… awesome. A few years ago some friends of mine did the “…In my pants” deal. For me it’s highly appropriate uses of “That’s what she said.” The problem is I’m probably too good at it and I take it to a really dark place. Ah… good times. As for fortune cookies, when being the only girl at the table and opening this fortune, snickering naturally ensued. http://tinyurl.com/fortunecookiewrong

    1. Impersonating a Dalek – in bed AND in space – is just plain fun *grin*

  2. I think it makes much more sense to add “in space” to the end of a fortune than “in bed”. In fact, I think I’m going to have to have Chinese food this weekend just to try it out. 😉

    And who hasn’t warned their family about extermination in a Dalek voice?

    Your book sounds awesome, both in bed and in space. 🙂

    1. Oh, you threaten to exterminate your family in dalek voice, too?

      *pumps fist*

      I am not alone!

      I also like to wave my eyestalk around while doing it…

      in bed! LOLOLOL

      I crack myself up, unfortunately.

  3. Hazel Higgins · · Reply

    This sounds a great wee read and I’m looking forward to getting stuck into it… in spaaaace!!!!

    1. I bet you’ll be reading it…in bed, lol.

  4. And the winner of the giveaway is…lakeofglass!

    A copy of Mako’s Bounty will be on its way shortly.

  5. First, congrats on the new release (I know I’m super late). Secondly – hilarious! I’ve done the “in space” thing on occasion, but I do a terrible Dalek. I do have a Dalek voice for my GPS – *it* threatens to exterminate me and calls me “human” all the time (and sometimes lies about how to get to my destination, as any true villain would). Probably I shouldn’t love the abuse as much as I do 🙂

Leave a Reply

