Prometheus

I have to admit, things are still unsettled on the family front, so I haven’t had a lot of time for being online or prepping blogs.  I’ve somehow managed to write 8K words in the past three weeks, which is a terrible pace for me, especially when I’m not doing anything else like editing or storyboarding or whatever.  However, that being said… OMFG – I saw the trailer for Prometheus on the weekend.

I was stunned.  Stunned.  It’s visually breathtaking and looks to be a horrifying, exhilarating ride.  It called to mind echoes of Alien without being obvious.  And since, according to this (Prometheus: 10 things you must know), Ridley Scott decided he was going to link them only superficially, well, I was impressed.

I want to be Ripley when I grow up. *grin* She’s a kick-ass hero, and Alien is, arguably, one of the best sci fi movies of all time.  However, I think Prometheus might give it a run for the money.  So… in the interest of me being lazy about blogging… who’s going to see Prometheus?  What’s your favourite sci fi movie and/or hero?

KC Burn

4 comments

  1. Ripley was one of my heroes, growing up. I saw “Alien” when I was about 10 (my dad was kind of cruel that way – lol), and loved her in “Aliens.” And “Ghostbusters” too. She wasn’t a typical “pretty Hollywood bim,” she was strong and intelligent.

    1. Yes, exactly – she wasn’t a typical movie heroine at all! Her strength was certainly admirable.

  2. Me and my husband watched the Prometheus trailer and we were squealing with excitement. I’ll definitely be seeing it, though may have to wait for DVD.

    Based on the amount of times I’ve seen it, I’ll have to plump for Bladerunner as my favorite sci fi movie.

    1. Oooh, Blade Runner. That’s a good one!

Leave a Reply

