When old is new again

One of the things I enjoyed most about writing a post-apocalyptic romance (Desert Blade) was world-building. Or, in this case, tearing down a world and deciding what’s left. Desert Blade‘s setting was a large part of that world-building, and I talk more about that in a post on landscapes on the Carina Press blog. When the story took shape, this apocalyptic world ended up being a return of the dust bowl in the Midwest, only much worse. The Unites States was a desert.

Sail Wagon

But wait! Desert? The story would be in a desert! What would that look like? What technology remained? Did they have cars and trucks?

If technology had been halted and some lost, then it makes sense that some tech of old would work in post-civilization setting.

I had this idea that took hold and wouldn’t let go. The idea that one could sail over a desert. Sure enough, as so many human ideas go, this thought was in no way unique. People have had land yachts or sail wagons for quite some time. The ancient Egyptians built them. Above is a picture of one created in Brooklyn in the early 1900s. Today, land yachts are used in racing in a unique sport that seems crazy exciting, fast, and dangerous.

In the post-apocalyptic world of Desert Blade, I decided these were the vehicle of choice, skimming over the sand and going way off-road since the roads had been long lost. Can you see it?

Somehow, trying to imagine what it’d be like to ride in a land yacht, I pictured the time when I was a girl when we had a go-cart. That was an exhilarating ride and seemed so fast! Dangerous! The ground is right there. Nothing between you and it. And no helmets! That experience informed the concept of sailing over the sand and voila! Dr. Lidia Sullivan has her new shiny land yacht.

So there it is, several old things, brought into a futuristic world imagined to be more basic. A time when the future circles back and uses tools and ideas from long ago. Like there are no new ideas, only recycled ones.

Now I just need to find a way to ride in a land yacht.

Who’s with me?

***

Ella Drake is a dark paranormal and science fiction romance author. You can find her on Twitter, Facebook, & Goodreads.

Her Science Fiction Romance, Desert Blade is a near-future post-apocalyptic romance from Carina Press. Currently available SFR: Silver Bound, Jaq’s Harp, Braided Silk & Firestorm on E’Terra. MetalMark, coming soon from Lyrical Press.

5 comments

  1. Fantastic!!! I love it. 😀

    1. Writing is so much fun 🙂

  2. ARGH! I cannot wait to read this book!!!!!! I bought it, but I’m on a deadline and won’t have any spare time until May!!! Oh, come SOON, sweet month of May, that I may read this f*@#ing awesome novel! You had me at “prosthetic arm with a deadly blade” and now desert sailing?? ZOMG

    1. *huge hugs*
      I certainly hope you like it!!!

  3. I love this! Love the world deconstruction! I am so not letting myself buy all the books I like though, it will kill what’s left of the budget. But fantastic! I am getting this one anyway!

Leave a Reply

