Storyteller and jewelsmith

I’ll be at ConCarolinas throughout the weekend of June 1-3, in the dealer room wearing my other hat for JLH Jewelry. (And promoting my books, as always, but I won’t be on any author panels.) I design and create science fiction themed jewelry, so I thought I’d share a little bit of what I do when I’m not busy writing the Stellarnet Series.

One of my steampunk pieces is included in the book 1000 Steampunk Creations: Neo-Victorian Fashion, Gear, and Art, which came out last summer. With 1,000 color photographs, it’s a showcase of jewelry, fashion, accessories, headgear, artwork, home decorations and curious contraptions.

Three of my original designs are featured projects in the book Steampunk Style Jewelry edited by Jean Campbell and released in December 2009.

One of my acid-etched, hand hammered and riveted, copper and brass “serenity” pendants.

Some of the jewelry I make is for the Firefly/Serenity fandom — otherwise known as Browncoats. I make replicas of the jewelry worn by the women in Joss Whedon’s cult series, including Inara’s earrings from the “Jaynestown” episode and Saffron’s necklaces in the episode “Trash.” I also make bracelets, earrings and pendants inspired by the show — such as a bracelet with teddy bear, strawberry and pink beads, in tribute to the ship’s mechanic, Kaylee.

Here are a few of my original, one-of-a-kind creations. You can click on the pictures for enlargements. See more in my galleries at JLHjewelry.com or deviantART.

Browncoat bracelet features carnelian stones, pistol, Buddha, horse, Chinese coins, and hand-drawn acid-etched brass “serenity” charm.

The “Bathysphere” necklace inspired by Jules Verne and the real-life Bathysphere submersible.

Steampunk apothecary pendant features real watch parts.

Piratepunk airrrrr-ship captain pendant.

J.L. Hilton

3 comments

  1. Very cool, love the steampunk jewelry especially!

  2. gorgeous jewelry!

Leave a Reply

