For the Love of Spaceships!

One of my favorite things about sci fi movies, books and TV shows is checking out the space hardware. Any space opera worth its salt has to have at least one spaceship that makes me salivate. Whether they’re sleek and fast or slow and powerful, I really don’t care. I just like the way they look.

It used to be a favorite pastime for me and my kids, to get out the giganto box of Lego and each create our own ship. We’d also get a little nutty building alien architecture and, when we were feeling really ambitious, high rise space cities. Fun times. I still think of all our creations when I’m writing sci fi and I love creating ships in my writing: The Kypris: a junker of a freighter with a sweet slingshot launch system, The Gagarin, named for the extraordinary Yuri, and the hard-working Zebra 180, no frills and totally dependable.

I’ve selected a few of my favorite spaceships. Do you recognize any of them? Do you have a favorite spaceship?

* * * * *

Diane Dooley is the author of Blue Galaxy from Carina Press, Mako’s Bounty  from Decadent Publishing and numerous short stories, the latest of which is ‘Monster’ in the summer issue of From the Depths. Blue Nebula will be released by Carina Press in September, 2012. 

 


10 comments

  1. I love the grapple ships from Outlaw Star http://www.angelfire.com/anime3/d_seer/Outlaw_Star/display3.jpg
    great topic by the way.

  2. I think the Millenium Falcon will always my number one spaceship. It’s a pivotal character in Star Wars; it has flaws, durability, a shady backstory, personality and serious panache–a lot like Han Solo.

    I also dug the interstellar ships in Starship Troopers. They were beautifully realized and looked amazing.

    Hmm, I can’t quite place your 1st pic, but the others are (I think) Icarus II from Sunshine, a Cylon raider from BSG, and Nero’s mining vessel from Star Trek. Am I right?

    1. Yep, you got ’em right, Robert.

  3. Well the first IS my favourite – The Liberator from Blake’s Seven (or DSV2 for extra nerdy points). Although I always wanted to build myself an X-Wing.

    1. Extra nerd points for Pippa!

  4. Diane, my all time favorite was the original Viper from the 70’s Battlestar Galactica. Now, Serenity from Firefly tops the list closely followed by Space 1999’s Eagles.

    I have a soft spot for the UGSSPO from Quark.

    1. Oh yeah, I loved those Eagles, too.

  5. Those are great shots. I love spaceships. I have one on my desktop. Just a generic one. I do love Serenity from Firefly. That’s at least half of what I liked about that show, the ship.

    1. I want a bunk on Serenity…just so I can say ‘I’ll be in my bunk” and mean it.

Leave a Reply

