The aliens did it!

Stone statues of the Rapa Nui culture — are seen on Easter Island, 3700 km off the Chilean coast in the Pacific Ocean, on July 13, 2010. (MARTIN BERNETTI/AFP/Getty Images)

Just a short post today, as summer vacation hasn’t just hit, but it’s also bringing the heat, making me limit computer time for a bit. But this grabbed my attention and I thought I’d share. The story is about how scientists are trying to show how the Easter Island Statues can walk. Story here. Video below:

Scientists walking Easter Island Statue

Now come on! Who doesn’t look at this story and immediately think, the aliens did it?!? We all know the aliens came down and put those statues there. Along with the pyramids.

Okay, I jest, but it’s fun to what-if and create a myth around the walking statues. As fun as watching a bunch of scientists making a statue “walk”? Maybe.

What’s your favorite “the aliens did it” theory?

3 comments

  1. Stonehenge. I wonder if the builders “walked” those stones, too. At least part of the way — most of the route was by water, so I’ve read.

    Or, there’s crop circles. “The aliens did it” theory persists there, in spite of the number of people who’ve proven they can do it by themselves with a rope, a board and a little geometry.

    Anyway, that video is really cool!

    1. Totally! On both counts. The crop circles are fascinating because I just wonder why. Why did someone make that effort?

  2. I like all the Bermuda Triangle lore. Aliens did it. My youngest told me so it must be true *grin*

Leave a Reply

