Guess That Movie!

I’m not sure who is responsible for this, but the descriptions my cable company uses to describe movies are not only make the movies sound INCREDIBLY boring, but makes them well-nigh unrecognizable if you’re not familiar with the movie.  Do they want us to go out and enjoy the fresh air or are they perhaps getting kick-backs if we go to a movie theatre?  Because it almost seems like a passive-aggressive attempt to convince us NOT to watch these movies.

Go ahead, see if you can guess ‘em based on their descriptions. Some of them are very well known, some are a little more obscure, but they’re all (loosely) sci-fi.  And even if you know them, tell me, would you want to watch them based on these descriptions?

  1. “Hired to kill a man and his daughter, an assassin instead protects them while battling formidable adversaries.”
  2. “A female vampire tries to protect a medical student from werewolves intent on creating a hybrid species.”
  3. “Survivors try to stay a step ahead of vicious, virus-infected humans that have overrun London.”
  4. “Four big worms with multiple tongues dig high-speed around people in the middle of nowhere.”
  5. “Robots and other allies help a youth and a space jockey rescue a rebel princess and battle dark forces bent on intergalactic rule.”

KC Burn

Answers – I’ll post in the comments later this week.

14 comments

  1. 1. (Yikes! I haven’t a clue. “Hired to kill a man and his daughter” is throwing off all my initial choices.)
    2. Underworld -OR- Underworld: Awakening
    3. 28 Days Later -OR- Shaun of the Dead
    4. Tremors
    5. Star Wars

    1. 2. Good grief–it could also be Underworld: Evolution -or- Underworld: Rise of the Lycans. There are four movies (so far) in that series.

      1. Yeah, I think it says something when ALL the movies can be described the same way, eh?

  2. Oh, I love ridiculously simple synopses!

    Wizard of Oz: Transported to a surreal landscape, a young girl kills the first woman she meets, then teams up with three complete strangers to kill again.

    Harry Potter: Boy goes to school, learns to Spell.

    Twilight: Teen vampire smells his soul mate.

    I had all the same guesses as Maer. I’m not sure on #1 either.

    1. Those are great, JL! And you’ve both done really well with your guesses.

  3. ROTFL! Dorothy Gale as a double murderer? OMG, that’s funny. I totally didn’t see that one coming. LOL.

  4. The answers are:
    1. Elektra (confusing because probably no one saw it)
    2. Underworld
    3. 28 Days Later (seriously, how do you have a zombie movie description without mentioning zombies?!?)
    4. Tremors (I think this might be the WORST description, especially since they could be earthworms for all we know)
    5. Star Wars

  5. No, I never saw Elektra. I had issues over her being stabbed in the Daredevil movie. That was the beginning of my awareness of how women tend to be treated in comics — women in refrigerators and all that.

  6. Oh gorrammit! I *saw* Elektra. Totally forgotten everything about it except for the fact that Jennifer Garner was in it and that her character apparently had this OCD trait of counting her steps as she walked. Other than that–like there was a father and daughter slated for execution? Nope. Forgot that. Which only goes to show how forgettable a movie it must have been.

    But still, I hate that I forgot it and missed answering the first question of the quiz.

  7. LOL – I never saw Elektra either, but I don’t know how anyone could be enticed to watch based on that lame description!

  8. I’m too late to play as you have the answers up, but I had to laugh at these descriptions!

    1. Just awful, aren’t they?

  9. I’m late, but I would’ve only gotten 2 and 5. Excellent, KC!

    1. I’m amazed at how quickly those first 5 got figured out!

Leave a Reply

