My First Con

October 26 – 28 I will be attending my very first sci-fi/fantasy/comic con! It’s pretty exciting, I’ve read about these cons and watched them on TV and now I am going to the Atlantic Canada Hal-Con! Of course I am a little concerned about my writing and how it will fit in – I write erotic sci-fi, so you would think there would be an audience there, but maybe not.

  

I have a little fan-girl thing going on right now, LOL. R.A. Salvatore will be there. J I’m hoping I get to see him for a moment, but I will have to control my fan-girl desires as I am going to have to spend most of my time at my own author table, which I am sharing with another local author, Julia Phillips Smith who writes dark vampire stories. Check out her website here – she has the most incredible live action trailers for her series!

For added fun, Ajay Fry from InnerSPACE is going to be at Hal-con for the third year. I love his show! So another fan-girl moment (are you sensing a theme yet?).But one thing that always freaks me out is seeing actors I admire in the flesh. I guess it is because I see them in a static moment, and of course, time passes. Entire looks change as kids grow up, requirements for the next project call for hair changes and even weight changes. So much as I am looking forward to seeing Ajay, I feel some trepidation as well. Shallow yes? It’s even worse with movie actors. 

So getting back to authors, another appearance I am hopping to catch is Rachel Caine – I really hope I can meet her!

Well, I’ll be posting some photos I hope in a couple of weeks. Wish me luck.

Lilly Cain

www.lillycain.com

6 comments

  1. Good luck! I’d never attended a sci-fi convention in my life, until this year. Now I’ve been to five! They are addictive. They are also exhausting. My advice is stay hydrated, eat healthy, and get sleep. I also recommend taking something soothing for yer yap — tea, water, lip balm, cough drops, etc — because you’ll probably do lots of talking/yelling over the noise, if you have a table. I was totally starstruck when I met Jeffrey Combs at ConCarolinas — he was in Star Trek (STAR TREK!!!!), The 4400, played Poe in an episode of Masters of Horror, and has been in a bunch of other horror movies.

    You’ll have a blast. 🙂 I hope you plan to tell us all about it! With pictures? lol

    1. Awesome, Thanks! I’ll report back after it’s over. I will definitely have pics!

  2. You’re going to have so much fun!! Can’t wait to hear how it goes and to see your pics.

    1. Thanks, Ella! I sure hope so. I’ve ordered a big poster of my series, and I have bookmarks to hand out. 🙂 Hope to talk to lots of people!

  3. Sounds like fun, Lilly, how very exciting! I’m sure you’ll have a great time.

    1. Thanks, KC!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

