Lament of a Lapsed Luddite

Seems weird that a sci-fi fan & writer sometimes has an issue with advancing technology, doesn’t it?  And yet, that’s the case with me, although I kind of waffle between loving it and hating it.

I had to be dragged kicking and screaming to a proper computer with Windows, back in the day. It’s only because hubby (then boyfriend) gave me his hand-me-down computer that I finally caved and ditched my piece of crap computer running Norton Commander, complete with monochrome monitor.

Internet – who needs that, really? And email? Pfft. Now, of course, I’m addicted.

Smartphones? Only two years ago did I breakdown and buy a phone that did something besides, oh, telephone calls. I even refused to text on it. Now, I get the shakes if I’m away from it too long.

I bought a MAC because it was the only way I could get a specific software extension. I haven’t actually purchased the extension yet (which costs a whopping $40) because I’m currently trying to figure out the software it extends.  Not because I can’t, but because I really hate learning new software in my free time.  A weird combination of technophile and technophobe.

I also have the tendency to break electronics – I like to say I have my own personal electromagnetic field that causes disruption (and in fact, hubby doesn’t let me use his computer at all because it’s broken twice after I’ve touched it). Perhaps the technophobe part of me is justified.

Even though I work on websites and social media campaigns during the day (the EM field makes me a great QA person) I can’t help but feel that they’re a necessary evil for me as a writer.  After all, my website got hacked this weekend. It could have been a lot worse, but it was still hours of work to fix my tiny insignificant site, I’m still on Google’s “questionable” list and it left me feeling vulnerable and cranky.

Social media is probably worse. I have a hard enough time socializing in person – I’m completely failing to grasp how to develop connections online.  Major fail. I’m really hoping that at some point social media will become as vital to my existence as the Internet and email, but embrace the technology? Nope. So far, the Luddite tendencies are waaaaay too strong.

Mind you, I do attend a weekly book club via Skype… maybe there’s hope for me yet!

Leave a Reply

