The Year to Come: J.L. Hilton

rebelIn many ways, 2012 dazzled me. My debut novel Stellarnet Rebel released in January and the sequel Stellarnet Prince followed in November. I attended my first science fiction convention, Illogicon, and went on to participate in StellarCon, ConCarolinas, ConTemporal, Escapist Expo, NC Spec Fiction Night and the Geek Gala. As “author J.L. Hilton” I sponsored Can’t Stop the Serenity to benefit Equality Now, Kids Need to Read, and other causes. I even found time to design some Stellarnet Tarot cards based on my books.

My family had good health and good fortune, but I found myself feeling depressed. Being a published author meant a lot more time spent in isolation — devoted to promoting Stellarnet Rebel or writing and revising Stellarnet Prince. Which meant a lot less time with the other things that make life worth living. So, I’ll be striving for balance in 2013, which means less writing, social media and conventions, and more family, friends, fun and fresh air.

I’ll probably be wishing I had more time to play Bioshock: Infinite and Skyrim. I love gaming, but can’t help feeling like it’s such a time suck, when there are so many other things to do.

I’ve attended Illogicon 2013 already this year, but as a guest panelist and moderator rather than a vendor (last year, I went to sell my SF/F jewelry). I also plan to be at ConTemporal, Escapist Expo and the Geek Gala again, in some combination of guest, moderator, vendor, volunteer and/or supporter, depending on how things turn out.

I’m working on book three of the Stellarnet Series, tentative title Stellarnet Mother. I’m also working on a sci-fi erotic novella series and I’d like to expand Wren & Wood into a series of fantasy novellas. There are a few other projects in the works, but they’re secret for now.

At the moment, I’m kind of obsessed with Lark Rise to Candleford and old episodes of Cadfael. I’ll be watching Game of Thrones since my husband received the DVDs for Christmas. I want to see the second Hobbit movie, Oz: The Great and Powerful and the Wolverine, Thor and Iron Man movies. My tween daughter loves Loki and has a bracelet inscribed with the quote: “I am burdened with glorious purpose.” So I’ll have to take her to see that in the theater.

So far this year, I’ve read Lady X’s Cowboy by Zoe Archer and The Pirate’s Lady by Julia Knight. Up next is Blue Nebula by Diane Dooley, Phenomenal and Lot 62 by Robert Appleton. I can’t wait to read Soul of Kandrith, the sequel to Gate to Kandrith by Nicole Luiken, coming out in March. I also plan to continue reading the complete works of Elizabeth Gaskell. I’m sure there will be many more books I want to read, and most of them will be by my fellow, amazing Carina Press authors who I’ve come to know and love.

What are you up to in 2013?

2012-jen* * *

J.L. Hilton is the author of the Stellarnet Series published by Carina Press, including Stellarnet Rebel (January 2012) and Stellarnet Prince (November 2012), and a regular contributor to the Contact-Infinite Futures blog. Her artwork is featured in the books Steampunk Style Jewelry and 1000 Steampunk Creations. Visit her at JLHilton.com or follow her on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, Goodreads and deviantART.

2 comments

  1. Stellarnet Mother??? Damn, but I’m intrigued where you’re going next with this series.

    Best of luck with the complete works of Elizabeth Gaskell. I read one of hers recently. It was delightful – and very, very long!

  2. You were so busy in 2012! I did enjoy seeing your pics from the cons you attended, and your jewelry! And I totally agree with Diane, I’m intrigued by Stellarnet Mother!

    I’m there with you for the second Hobbit & Oz. The previews for that Oz look incredible!

Leave a Reply

