A sampling of Arisia 2013

Zpocalypse

Zpocalypse

I attended Arisia 2013 in Boston this month. I came away feeling that so much of it was a visual treat. So I thought I’d share with you some of those visuals.

There were video games and the most popular with my kids, an area for board games with demos, tournaments, and just the opportunity to find a table and play. We got a demo of the pre-release Zpocalypse board game from Greenbrier Games. We enjoyed it and it’s quite detailed, so it definitely requires full attention. The interesting thing was that while it sets up competition between the players, it also encourages working together.

IMG_20130119_144937

TARDIS!

There was of course some fantastic cosplay.
One in particular, a TARDIS dress, got a bit of attention in social media. It was featured on io9. When I tweeted this pic, I got a lot of responses to it & requests for more pics. Unfortunately, I’d had to leave the con early and didn’t have another. But the joys of social networking!  Here’s a link to a tweet that someone kindly responded with, featuring the dress closed.

We enjoyed sword fighting classes, costuming, even belly dancing! And of course, plenty of SFF in film, media, gaming, and books. Lots of lovely books.

And more from Arisia!
IMG_20130119_141351IMG_20130119_143925IMG_20130119_144233

I came away wondering who I’d dress as if I decided to try costuming. I’m not sure I’d manage a “who” so much as a theme. Maybe space piratess!

Have you dipped into cosplay? Or, would you? What would your costume be?

***

Ella Drake is a dark paranormal and science fiction romance author. You can find her on Twitter, Facebook, & Goodreads. Her Science Fiction Romance, Desert Blade is a near-future post-apocalyptic romance from Carina Press. Currently available SFR: Silver Bound, Jaq’s Harp, Braided Silk & Firestorm on E’Terra. And now from Lyrical Press, MetalMark.

2 comments

  1. That looks like so much fun! The TARDIS dress is awesome.

    1. It’s an amazing dress! and she has such a sweet smile!

Leave a Reply

