Continuum and Time Travel

Anyone watching this? It’s a new SyFy series where incarcerated terrorists and a cop from the year 2077 mistakenly travel back to 2012 when the terrorists stage an escape just prior to their execution. And in 2012, the tech the law enforcement uses is only in it’s infancy, because the guy who invented it is still working from a makeshift server room in his parents’ barn. Yes… barn. I completely love that little detail!

Everyone is trying to get back to their own time, but the cop is also trying to prevent the terrorists from committing more crimes. They have no compunction about shedding blood if it’s necessary for their purposes, nor do they care if they leave the cop behind in 2012.

It’s an interesting concept and a good execution thus far (I think I’ve seen 3 or 4 episodes now). I did have to laugh that it’s set in Vancouver. I guess they were getting tired of filming there but pretending it was somewhere else. About time, I say!

I know I’ve mentioned previously that I’m intending to write a time travel story of my own this year, and I’m really glad there aren’t many similarities. This show has certainly made me hyper-aware of potential paradoxes and continuity issues when I do write it. Not to say Continuum has paradoxes or continuity issues. There have been several places where I thought they might occur, but the writers cleverly planned for those pitfalls and evaded them.

I’m not sure how many episodes or seasons this type of storyline can adequately sustain, but it’s a lot of fun so far, with a kick-ass, tech-enhanced heroine. What do you think? Is it going to burn out quick or is it in for the long haul?

KC Burn

4 comments

  1. I’m intrigued! I’ll have to check it out. Thanks for sharing, KC!

    1. I’m always happy to share my ridiculous amount of TV watching 🙂

  2. I watched the first couple of episodes but got waylaid by reality and need to catch up : P I did enjoy what I saw, though. But I also wonder about the “burn out” issue.Hope not!

    1. Yeah, I haven’t had a chance to pick it up again. I’m happy if it’s short, as long as they have a proper story arc and end it properly, rather than trying to stretch it beyond its lifespan.

Leave a Reply

