Designing Spaceships: Guest Post by Pippa Jay and a Giveaway

Contact:Infinite Futures is pleased to welcome author Pippa Jay.

* * *

WP_000592Spaceships! I love ‘em! After discovering Star Wars at the age of eight I dreamt of building an X-Wing and zooming around the Universe. Or hitching a ride on Blake’s Liberator. Or even going all timey-wimey in the TARDIS, in the days before timey-wimey was an accepted phrase. Sadly the closest I ever got to any of those were the Kenner and Corgi figures, or an Airfix kit.

And it makes it stranger still that the characters in my two novels don’t even need spaceships. Instead, they can cross time and space with a wave of their hands (and a good old wormhole-generating burst of psi energy). But Gethyon shares my early obsession with spaceships, having models of hawk-shaped Metraxian fighters and deep space freighters that fly themselves around his bedroom ceiling. He imagines exploring the stars in a spaceship of his own, flying away from all his troubles. So I couldn’t deprive my young hero Gethyon of the ship of his dreams, even though he doesn’t have it for very long.

Excerpt: 

Gethyon stared. All these years and he’d never known this was under his feet all the time. Something he’d dreamed of. Something he wanted right at the moment more than anything else, more than air. “A Spirit Drifter,” he whispered.

The ship was black. Blacker than black, like something cast from polished shadows. It formed a vaguely triangular shape with a snub nose pointing forward, and the short wings curved downward from the engine housing. The pilot’s seat was set midway with a clear metaglass canopy over the top. Gethyon had watched himself fly one in his dreams but never imagined for an instant that he would own one.

* * *

dreamstimecomp_18253637bA mixture of craft inspired the design for this. Snowspeeders from one of my favorite films – The Empire Strikes Back. The small, shuttle-like exploration vessel of Major John Crichton from Farscape. Douglas Adams’s description Hotblack Desiato’s suncrash spaceship in The Restaurant at the End of the Universe. But it didn’t completely take shape until I found this image on dreamstime that matched the more shadowy idea in my head. This was the craft young men dreamed of in my Universe.

How does he come to lose it? You’ll have to read the book to find out.

* * *

GETHYON: a YA Science Fiction Novel, released by Champagne Books 3rd June, 2013.

gethyon_300His father died. His mother abandoned him. In the depths of space, darkness seeks him.

Abandoned by his mother after his father’s death, Gethyon Rees feels at odds with his world and longs to travel the stars. But discovering he has the power to do so leaves him scarred for life. Worse, it alerts the Siah-dhu—a dark entity that seeks his kind for their special abilities—to his existence, and sets a bounty hunter on his trail.

When those same alien powers lead Gethyon to commit a terrible act, they also aid his escape. Marooned on the sea-world of Ulto Marinos, Gethyon and his twin sister must work off their debt to the Seagrafter captain who rescued them while Gethyon puzzles over their transportation. How has he done this? And what more is he capable of?

Before he can learn any answers, the Wardens arrive to arrest him for his crime. Can his powers save him now? And where will he end up next?

BUY LINKS:

BURST  |  Kobo  |  Amazon UK  |  Amazon US  |  Omnilit 

 

* * *

GIVEAWAY: Leave a comment to be entered for a  giveaway of one copy of Gethyon (epub or mobi)

Contest is open until midnight EST, on Sunday 7th July. Winner will be announced on the 8th.

* * * 

BIO:

487970_396457363750310_1481028755_n (640x640)A stay-at-home mum of three who spent twelve years working as an Analytical Chemist in a Metals and Minerals laboratory, Pippa Jay bases her stories on a lifetime addiction to science-fiction books and films. Somewhere along the line a touch of romance crept into her work and refused to leave. Between torturing her characters, she spends the odd free moments trying to learn guitar, indulging in freestyle street dance and drinking high-caffeine coffee. Although happily settled in historical Colchester in the UK with her husband of 20 years, she continues to roam the rest of the Universe in her head. Her works have won a SFR Galaxy Award, and finaled in the Readers Favorite Award Contest and the Gulf Coast RWA Chapter Silken Sands Self-Published Star Award.

LINKS:

Website  |  Email  |  Blog  |  Goodreads  |  Twitter  |  Facebook  |  Google+

11 comments

  1. Thanks for hosting me, Diane! 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on everydayfangirl and commented:
    Love of spaceships by Pippa Jay..

  3. My pleasure, Pippa!

    And thanks so much for the reblog, Patty.

  4. Hi Pippa! Great post — I have a little love of spaceships too (-: Best of luck with the new release!

    1. Thanks, Anna. 🙂

  5. Margaret Taylor · · Reply

    Oh I have notebooks full of the ships used in my Spi-Corp Series. Eventually I’m gonna scan them and get them up on my website…*evil cackle!* Wonderful post. And I couldn’t agree with you more. I love ships and hauler rings and weigh docks…and, yeah, that!

    1. Oh, please let me know when they’re up – I’d love to see them!

  6. Renn Hadley · · Reply

    I love space ships too, now if only I could draw…

    1. Hmm, you’ve reminded me I have a few spaceship sketches from my teens – maybe I should post them…

  7. Wish I’d taken photos of all the Lego spacecraft me and my kids used to build when they were younger. We all got very good at it!

  8. The winner of the giveaway is Renn Hadley! Pippa will be in touch, Renn.

    Thanks, everyone, for reading and commenting.

Leave a Reply

