Chocolate and Space: Two of my favorite things

My edits are finished! It’s always such a great feeling for an author to put the final polish on a story and send it off, ready to head off into the world to hopefully thrill, excite and inspire readers. The story I just finished, DARKEST BEFORE DAWN, is for the upcoming Contact:IF anthology, INFINITE FUTURES.

INFINITE FUTURES excites me because it’s like a box of chocolates. You know those large boxes with chocolates of all different shapes and flavors. It comes with an awesome little list that tells you what is what (I’m pretty sure the antho will have one of those too). Yep, I deliberate for a while but inevitably I always select anything with caramel. Hmm, hmm. I love caramel (sorry, to the Americans but I think caramel with chocolate works waaaaay better than peanut butter!)

Cover of Infinite Futures - the first Anthology by Contact IF Blog members

So, after I devour my favorite things, I like to try something new. Something unique that maybe I’ve never tried before or haven’t tried for a long time. It is always thrilling to stumble across something that I thought I wouldn’t like and turns out that I love it too. But enjoy trying something different, something out-of-the-ordinary for a change of pace. Maybe it won’t become a favorite, but it’s exciting to experience it. I never eat the Turkish Delight though…blah, not for me.

INFINITE FUTURES is full of different SF tales of all shapes and flavors – some have romance and some do not. Some are more action-packed. Some are more gadget-packed. There is something for every taste and some new things to try. There’s post-apocalyptic (that’s mine!), space opera, steampunk and more. You’re sure to find your caramel (and there could be your Turkish Delight as well) but for the adventurous out there, I hope you find something different that might just become you next favorite thing.

Now it’s your turn to share your favorite chocolate and your favorite type of SF story.

***
Anna Hackett loves action movies, sci-fi shows, short stories, writing her own romantic adventures, her wonderful husband and her little man. You can find her at all the usual places: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

2 comments

  1. Ooh, if your antho story is chocolate-covered caramel, then mine is bittersweet dark chocolate with a sweet, squishy center.

  2. Hi Diane — ooh, I like the sound of that. Hubby loves dark choc so I’ve developed a taste for it.

Leave a Reply

