Pacific Rim Review

Go Voltron! Er… I mean… Go Gipsy Danger!

Basically, the movie was way better than I expected, although I seriously did keep wanting to cheer for Voltron. I realize I’m dating myself, but hey, not much I can do about that!

Before I went to see the movie, I was concerned about the plot point where some government actually decided the first course of action against the monsters was giant robots. Because, quite frankly, that seemed a ludicrous, illogical leap to me. They do address that issue in the movie and if it didn’t entirely hang together, it was close enough I could suspend disbelief and accept it.

The cast was super, although I will probably be forgiving of anything Idris Elba does. There is one moment where he’s portrayed as this almost holy savior, which was a little hokey, but he’s a talented actor and a very sexy man. (Anyone watch Luther? If you haven’t you should!) And the small role by Burn Gorman (Owen from Torchwood) gave me the warm fuzzies.

The effects – OMG – spectacular! Considering the scope of what they were dealing with, I was expecting good effects with a few “ugh” moments. But I saw none. The effects were outstanding.

The plot was consistent, although there was one serious WTF moment (analog… really?!?). The love story was meh. It felt a little forced to me. I’m a romance author – if you have to shoehorn in an awkward, clunky love affair, please don’t. Do it right or don’t do it. Not all stories require a romance element.

Overall, it was an enjoyable, fun movie with lots of sci-fi goodness.

KC Burn

Leave a Reply

