Joss Whedon’s Agents of F.I.R.E.F.L.Y.

While I’ve been a Browncoat, an avid fan of Joss Whedon’s space western TV show Firefly and movie Serenity, for the past decade, I’m not a long-time, hardcore “Joss is Boss” Whedon-ite. I loved his work on Toy Story back in the ’90s and I own Dr. Horrible’s Sing-along Blog on DVD, but I couldn’t get into Roseanne (on which he worked as a writer), I’ve only seen a few episodes of Buffy or Angel and I haven’t watched Dollhouse, Cabin in the Woods or Much Ado About Nothing. I’m also not a comics geek, but I enjoyed Avengers in spite of everything wrong with it (j/k) so I watched Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. on ABC when it debuted Thursday, September 24, 2013.

S.H.I.E.L.D. was fun. Not fantastic, for me. Still better than most crap on TV. Some of the zingers felt a little forced, some of the Whedon-esque tropes a little stale. I’ve heard that Joss likes to use the same characters and ideas more than once, and there certainly seemed to be several callbacks to the Firefly/Serenity ‘verse. During one scene with Skye in her conspicuous hacker van, I found myself thinking “You can’t stop the signal.” And the bit about the stuff “burning” Mike Peterson’s brain reminded me of Mal’s line in Serenity about “the secret that burned up River Tam’s brain.” Which got me to wondering how much Whedon intended to channel his super secret storyline about the Blue Hands and Blue Sun into his new show. Or just how often he would figuratively flex his middle finger at FOX for canceling his other SF program.

I could write more about my thoughts on S.H.I.E.L.D., but I thought it would be more fun to make pictures. So here you go…

coulson

Agents of SHIELD_cargobay

notthezoe

notthejayne

leo-jemma

mulewontrunw5

And this guy showed up… That’s no shepherd.

agents-of-shield-ron-glass

Are you a Joss Whedeon fan? A Browncoat? A Marvel comics geek? What did you think of S.H.I.E.L.D.?

* * *

2012-jenJ.L. Hilton is the author of the Stellarnet Series published by Carina Press, including Stellarnet Rebel (January 2012) and Stellarnet Prince (November 2012), and is a regular contributor to the Contact-Infinite Futures blog. She also creates cool wearable things that are featured in the books Steampunk Style Jewelry and 1000 Steampunk Creations. Visit her at JLHilton.com or follow her on Google+, Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, Goodreads and deviantART.

Leave a Reply

