The awesomeness that is Wesley Crusher

HAHAHA – gotcha! You thought I’d lost my mind, didn’t you? Seriously, though, despite my indifference to Wesley Crusher as a character (I didn’t feel the savage hatred some others did), since then, I’ve discovered a love of Wil Wheaton.

Of course, his tweets are generally amusing as hell. He’s also had some awesome bit parts in some of my favourite TV shows. Most recently, of course, he’s shown up in The Big Bang Theory as Sheldon’s nemesis. Makes me laugh every time.

Actually, now that I think about it, my other two favourite parts are ALSO nemesis… nemesii… nemesises? Seriously, how do you pluralize nemesis? Anyway, in Eureka he was Fargo’s nemesis, and my personal favourite, he was an evil hacker in Leverage, as Hardison’s nemesis. In one of the episodes, there’s a wink and a nod to Wesley Crusher – or more specifically, Star Trek – as Hardison makes an off the cuff reference to the Kobayashi Maru.

I’ve recently been re-watching Leverage on Netflix and it might be one of my favourite TV shows ever. I also adore the pop culture and geek references (Doctor Who crops up a lot) that are very subtly interwoven into the episodes, like going under cover as Tom Baker and his wife Sarah Jane.

What? You’ve never watched Leverage? Get thee to Netflix and start! It’s about a group of con artists who turn their criminal expertise to providing a comeuppance to bigger, badder and vicious criminals who can’t be taken down by legal means.

Finally, and dear to my heart, Wil Wheaton has a YouTube channel called Table Top where he plays board games with various other actors or minor celebrities. It’s not just watching them playing, Wil explains how to play as well as giving a few tips on strategy. Many of the games he’s featured we own but that doesn’t stop us watching! And we’ve also picked up a few games based on one of these videos.

And all these things have transformed Wesley Crusher into, IMO, the uber cool Wil Wheaton. As Hardison from Leverage would say, “Age of the geek, baby.”

KC Burn

3 comments

  1. Table Top is a fun show even if you aren’t into games…though it makes you want to start.

    1. I agree! I think it’s so cool to see actors and stuff just hanging around being themselves (or at least, more themselves than they are in their roles!)

  2. […] Loved it during the first run and I’m still loving it. I referenced Eureka in my post about Wil Wheaton, and of course I love the crossover with Warehouse 13, but something else has become clear while […]

Leave a Reply

