Deck the halls with geekiness

Happy holidays! Whether you celebrate Christmas, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, Solstice, Festivus, Hogmanay, New Year’s, Epiphany/Three Kings Day, Boxing Day or the birthdays of science fiction authors Arthur C. Clarke and Philip K. Dick on December 16, it’s that time of year for festive foods and gift giving.

We had a geeky yuletide at our house. Many DOCTOR WHO shirts, books and DVDs passed between my relatives. I got a copy of the newly-released blu-ray of ELYSIUM, a “Shinicus Serenitus” FIREFLY t-shirt, and a toy Astrid from the game SKYRIM.

contact-IF-geekgifts

Santa brought me a steampunk style “Crazy Combat Catapults” kit.

15b8_crazy_combat_catapults_items

My husband received a LORD OF THE RINGS Lego kit and our daughter made him a MINECRAFT chest.

2013-minecraftchest

Did you give or receive any science fiction, fantasy or other geeky gifts this year? Deck the halls with DaleksMake STAR WARS snowflakes? Bake a Cthulhu pie? Tell me all about it!

* * *

2012-jenJ.L. Hilton is the author of the Stellarnet Series published by Carina Press, including Stellarnet Rebel (January 2012) and Stellarnet Prince (November 2012), and is a regular contributor to the Contact-Infinite Futures blog. She also creates cool wearable things that are featured in the books Steampunk Style Jewelry and 1000 Steampunk Creations. Visit her at JLHilton.com or follow her on Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, Goodreads and deviantART.

One comment

  1. That sounds like a great Christmas! And OMG! your kids are growing up! I remember when they were still so little. *facepalm* Time flies, doesn’t it?

    Sticking to the topic, I think the closest thing to an SF gift given at *Christmas* this year was the tactical chefs apron my husband got me. I saw all the loops and slots and attachable pounches and immediately thought: STUDIO TOOLS!!!! Like I could put my needle nose pliers here on the left and my flat nose pliers on the right and my wire nippers over here and my crimp pliers over there and my pens could go in this slot ….

    You get the idea.

    (You can see it for sale here: http://www.thinkgeek.com/product/11cd/)

    Of course, I can just as easily see a spaceship engineer crawling through the engine room with one of these on, with tools all over and in it. Which is why I fell in love with it the second I clapped eyes on it.

    For my son’s birthday, coming up next week, he’s getting light up Minecraft Cubes.

Leave a Reply

