2013 Science Fiction Movie Roundup: What Rocked and What Sucked!

Gravity-Warner Bros. PicturesDo you know what awesome sci-fi movie (and accompanying TV series DVDs) resides on the International Space Station?

Serenity! I love Joss Whedon’s Firefly and I think it’s pretty cool to imagine real-life astronauts kicking back watching Captain Mal and his gang on their adventures.

I enjoyed Dianne’s post on SF in 2014. There are some great sci-fi movies on their way. 2013 was also a pretty good year, so I thought we should look back and see what sci-fi movies rocked and which ones didn’t. And since I personally love some romance with my sci-fi, the romance factor in each.

Maybe there are one or two you missed. I know I still have a few to see, so if you have seen them, jump in and let me know what you thought.

Elysium

Starring Matt Damon and Jodie Foster

My view: A bit slow despite the action, and the political messages were a bit heavy-handed for my liking (rich people and corporations are evil, blah, blah, blah)

Romance factor: LOW – there’s a minor touch between Matt Damon’s character and his childhood sweetheart but not much.

Final verdict: SUCKED

Star Trek Into Darkness

Starring Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto, Benedict Cumberbatch, Karl Urban and Zoe Saldana

My view: I really liked this movie. Maybe not quite as much as the first but I am a Star Trek fan and I LOVE what Abrams has done with the new movies. Action, drama, get dialogue, great plot and some romance!

Romance factor: MED – there is a great continuation of the romance between Spock and Uhura. There are some truly awesome moments between the two.

Final verdict: ROCKED

Oblivion
Starring Tom Cruise, Olga Kurylenko and Morgan Freeman.
My view: This was a pretty solid sci-fi movie. It has some interesting ideas and mysteries, action and a romance. My one disappointment was there wasn’t anything really amazing, really unique or different.
Romance factor: HIGH – the romance plays a big part in the story and I thought I it worked well.
Final verdict: ALMOST ROCKED

Pacific Rim

Starring Charlie Hunnam, Idris Elba, Rinko Kikuchi and a bunch of other actors I’ve never heard of

I confess, I haven’t seen this one. I was excited about it (even though it sounded like a Transformers wanna-be) but once friends started seeing it, the reviews were not good. That said it hasn’t fared too badly over at Rotten Tomatoes. I’ll probably get around to seeing eventually.

Riddick
Starring Vin Diesel, Katee Sackhoff and Karl Urban
OMG, I want to see this and am not sure why I haven’t. I don’t care what anyone else says, I LOVE Riddick and it sounds like this movie returns to the roots of the original Pitch Black. Oh, and it has Katee Sackhoff and Karl Urban in it…a win for me.

Man of Steel

Starring Henry Cavill, Amy Adams, Kevin Costner and Russell Crowe

My view: I liked Man of Steel. It had all the right elements: action, angst and romance. I guess it suffered a bit from the same problem as Oblivion, just nothing amazing or unique.

Romance factor: MED-HIGH – there is an obvious romance between Superman and Lois. It was all a bit quick for me. They were just instantly into each other and I wasn’t really sure why (except for the fact that Henry Cavill is an insanely good-looking guy).

Final verdict: ALMOST ROCKED

After Earth
Starring Will Smith and Jaden Smith
Another one I haven’t seen but would like to. I’ve heard mixed reviews and at Rotten Tomatoes they haven’t been kind: dull, ploddingly paced. Ouch.

World War Z

Starring Brad Pitt and Mireille Enos

My view: Another one I liked (even though I thought I wouldn’t). It doesn’t cover much new ground in terms of zombies (except for the way they find to mask humans from zombies) but the action is really good.

Romance factor: LOW: Brad’s character is married and is trying to get back to his family but no new romance (except for maybe a tiny bit of tension with a female Israeli soldier)

Final verdict: ALMOST ROCKED

Gravity
Starring George Clooney and Sandra Bullock
I haven’t seen it and cautiously would like to. I hear there is action and some amazing cinematography. There’s been plenty of hype including several Oscar nominations. Which is the cause of my trepidation…I generally find Oscar-nominated movies are not my cup of tea. Anyway, I will check it out.

Iron Man 3Iron Man3-Walt Disney Studios

Starring Robert Downey, Jr. Gwyneth Paltrow, Don Cheadle and Guy Pearce

My view: I LOVED this movie. It had it all – action, adventure, romance, great characters. I love that Iron Man aka Tony Stark was really tested. He had to do things without his suit or with only part of his suit functioning. Everything he depended on was gone and he had to depend on himself.

Romance factor: HIGH – the romance between Pepper and Tony plays a big part in the movie, and I loved that is wasn’t all smooth-sailing. We really get to see how much he loves her…sigh.

Final verdict: ROCKED

Ender’s Game
Starring Asa Butterfield and Harrison Ford
Another one I haven’t seen. Not sure I will. I’ve watched the trailer a few times, wanting to be hooked, but something just seems missing for me. It’s doing okay over at Rotten Tomatoes. If you’ve seen it, let me know whether it’s worth watching.

Images: Gravity – Warner Bros Pictures, Ironman 3 – Walt Disney Studios

****

I’Anna Hackett - Action Romancem Anna Hackett and I write action romance to thrill you, excite you and leave you inspired. Join the adventure! You can find me at all the usual places: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

5 comments

  1. How about “Thor: The Dark World”? As a movie, I don’t think it was as good as “Iron Man 3” but for the characters, I’d rather watch Thor than Iron Man. Thor and Loki — they could just sit on a park bench for two hours and I’d watch that. If they were jell-o wrestling for two hours, even better. As for the Thor love story, I preferred the assistant/minion quirky romance to the main Thor/Jane relationship. I don’t get the Thor/Jane thing. Yeah, I know, it’s from the comic books or whatever, but Portman comes across as a bland and boring partner for a god, imo. Poor Sif.

    1. Excellent addition! I haven’t seen Thor: The Dark World yet!! I REALLY want to. I just liked the first one but after Avengers I was also really keen to see more of Thor and Loki. I was hoping the Thor/Jane thing might be more exciting in this one…in the first I just didn’t get how they “fell in love.” Yeah, Jane is a bit bland and I agree, poor Sif.

  2. I think I meant to add The Wolverine as well. I LOVE Hugh Jackman and I love him more as Logan. The Wolverine had the action but the romance was pretty blah and in the end the movie was a bit blah as well.

  3. Give Gravity a try. I’m not usually into Oscar-nominees either (too drama-heavy), but Gravity had awesome suspense/action/AND character moments.

    1. Thanks for the feedback, Nicole. I will definitely give Gravity a try.

Leave a Reply

