Contact-IF authors discuss JUPITER ASCENDING

jupiterascending

JUPITER ASCENDING opens in North American theaters today. The film is written, produced, and directed by The Wachowskis, and co-produced by Grant Hill, who acted as executive producer on The Matrix Reloaded and The Matrix Revolutions, and as producer on V for Vendetta, Speed Racer, Ninja Assassin, and Cloud Atlas, making Jupiter Ascending his seventh collaboration with the Wachowskis.

J.L. Hilton: I think I’m going to really, really love Jupiter Ascending, but I know it’s bad to go into a movie with expectations. I can’t help it. This is a science fiction romance with an elf (c’mon, the dude has pointed ears) and Eddie Redmayne and Sean Bean, who have been two of my favorite actors for years, even before they showed up in LOTR, Game of Thrones, Les Mis, etc. So, I am SO excited about seeing this, I can’t stand it.

Anna Hackett: I am super excited to see Jupiter Ascending, too. The trailers look great, the movie looks visually beautiful and the best thing… sci-fi romance!

Shawn Kupfer: I’m cautiously optimistic. The Wachowskis haven’t had anything that hit since the Matrix films (although I liked Cloud Atlas), but I do think they have another Matrix-level film in them.

Lilly Cain: I’m not sure if I will see it opening weekend, but I am going to see it. I think it is one of those movies that needs the big screen.

A.H.: I’m trying not to get my hopes up too high — I did read that they showed it at Sundance and people walked out, but why show it at the one place a sci-fi, action blockbuster is guaranteed to get shot down!?!?!

J.L.H.: One Sundance viewer said it was targeted to “15-year-old boys.” (Read the Variety article here.)

A.H.: As a sci-fi romance lover, I really hope the romance doesn’t get shortchanged and I hope Mila Kunis’s character isn’t just a damsel in distress.

J.L.H.: That’s my concern, too. I really want this to be a film that proves science fiction romance and science fiction with a strong leading lady are worth doing. I’m not encouraged by the fact that when I did a search for the movie’s promotional art, there were many posters without Mila in them at all, or if she was there she was doing the typical demure shadow behind his manliness.

channingtatum

S.K.: I probably won’t go see it opening night (I’m an old man and will be busy chasing kids off my lawn with a rake), but I do plan on seeing it in the theaters if I can convince anyone to go with me.

A.H.: Unfortunately I live in the middle of nowhere, so I have no idea when I’ll actually get to see it.

J.L.H.: I’m going this weekend. I wish we all lived near each other, so we could see it together!

Readers, are you going to see JUPITER ASCENDING? Have you already seen it? What did you think? Let us know in the comments.

Find a screening near you.

 

2 comments

  1. Still haven’t had a chance to see this, due to the family outvoting me for Spongebob this past weekend, and due to an unfortunate incident of food poisoning. But this review on TOR.com sounds like I’m going to LOVE it. http://www.tor.com/blogs/2015/02/movie-review-jupiter-ascending

  2. Jupiter Ascending hit the (big red) spot for me, guys. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Crazy huge space opera with romantic elements. Channing Tatum’s gravity boots are on my Christmas list for this year (along with Mila Kunis). Those hoping for a kick-ass heroine will be disappointed, though. She’s pretty much a damsel, though she does get stuck-in towards the end. It feels right for the character.

    The movie’s a total SF geek-out, which will turn off a lot of casual viewers but will ultimately make it a cult fave. It reminded me a little of The Fifth Element, but for my money it’s superior to that in every way. Brilliant world-building, lively action, and just enough characterization to make the story work. Tatum and Kunis are solid. Redmayne is nutty. Sean Bean (complete with bee DNA!) gives the best performance, IMO.

    Curious to see what you guys make of it.

Leave a Reply

