Battleship was Rockin’!

Yes, we went to see Battleship.  It actually wasn’t as bad as I feared.  Lots of explosions, not too bad acting.  Mind you, I thought the main character was too easily redeemed considering what a douchebag he was, but that’s immaterial.  The key point is that we saw the movie in D-Box.  I’m going to quote from the website, because it’s way more succinct than I could be… “« D-BOX Motion Code™ » uses motion effects specifically programmed for each film, TV series or video game, which are sent to a motion generating system integrated within either a platform or a seat.”

When we were back home in Toronto, our local theatre had one of the theatres set up for D-Box motion seats.  So, we probably paid far more than anyone reasonably should have for that movie (cost us an extra $8 per ticket) but it also made the movie pretty darn cool.  Not only were the seats more comfortable than the usual seats, but you could choose to turn the effects off, or choose one of three different intensities.  I ended up on the most intense setting.  I imagine those who get motion sickness might have issues, but I don’t and I thought it was rather awesome.

The only real issue I had was that the seats were higher than normal, and were farther back from the row in front. I’m only 5’2” so I could neither prop my feet on the seats in front, nor touch the floor!  And the seats weren’t quite big enough to sit cross-legged.  I don’t think our local theatres here in Orlando are set up for D-Box, but there are definitely a few movies where it might be worth the extra price.

KC Burn

3 comments

  1. I’ve never heard of D-Box before, but it sounds perfect for Battleship. Didn’t they release the 1970s Earthquake film with something similar–Sensurround (sp?)–or that could have just been shaky seats. Not sure. Anyway, would love to watch the big action blockbusters with D-Box. They are, after all, like rollercoaster rides.

    1. Yes, I seem to recall hearing people make fun of those shaky seats back in the day, but D-Box was definitely more sophisticated. It was very much like a ride, a bit more mild than a rollercoaster ride, though 😉

  2. I haven’t seen a movie in D-Box but it kinda scares me that I might get woozy. So glad to hear you can turn it off. Maybe I’ll give it a try, then.

    Also, I totally enjoyed Battleship. I thought it was a blast.

Leave a comment