A Question of Zombies

Are zombies even officially classed as sci-fi, or just paranormal?  Eh, today, we’re calling ’em sci-fi because this is weighing on my mind.

I love zombies.  I’ve loved them for a long time.  My love is not a fad or a whim or based on a trend.  But loving something and being able to write about it are not always the same.

I’ve never wanted to force zombies into something I’ve written.  I do have a couple of books where I refer to them obliquely, but zombies are not the primary topic.  Since romance comprises the main theme of my books, it’s especially difficult to fit zombies in.  Rotting body parts are not romantic or erotic.  In my opinion.

Regardless, I thought zombies would be relegated to the status of fantasy and mystery – I love to read them but find them impossible to write.

But finally – finally! – I’ve got a great idea for a zombie book.  A romance with zombies in it, even.  Problem is… zombies seem to be trending *now* and I don’t think I’ll even be able to start planning this book until December at the earliest.

So… what do you think?  Can zombie stories transcend trends or am I going to look like a tired old hack by the time I get this story whipped into shape and ready for the real world?

And on a completely unrelated note… I have a new release from Carina Press, one that’s undoubtedly sci-fi.

Alien ‘n’ Outlaw

R’kos, son of the Ankylos Emperor, is expected to settle down. But he’s much more attracted to human males than to his own species. Eager to explore his forbidden longings, he steals a ship and heads to Elora Ki to see if he can find the right human guy.

Darien robs the corrupt to give to those in need, but now he needs a ride off Elora Ki, stat. Pursued by drug lords, he accepts help from the amorous stranger who calls himself Ricky. As they fly together along Darien’s route, their friendship quickly turns into passion.

But when Ricky is injured, Darien must contact the embassy to get his alien lover the medical care he needs. As Darien finds himself accused of kidnapping, and Ricky fears his family’s disappointment, can the two protect their growing relationship? Or are their differences just too great?

KC Burn

8 comments

  1. I’m in the same boat with steampunk. Loved it for a long time — some 30 years before I ever heard the word “steampunk.” But I’ve been writing cyberpunk instead. I now have a great idea for a steampunk novel — well, more of a Weird West, but close enough — and by the time it ever comes out, it’ll probably be 2014 or later. Will I look like I’m late to the party? Will the trend be fizzling? I’ve thought about these sorts of things.

    My answer is that a good story is a good story. I think it will be even better if the steampunk (or in your case zombies) are truly an intregal part of the story, written by someone who loves it — rather than wedged in there just to pander to the zeitgeist.

    PS Have you heard about the book and soon-to-be movie Warm Bodies?

    PPS Alien N Outlaw sounds like a great read! Wishing you lots of success with it.

    1. I had not heard about Warm Bodies until you mentioned it, but I do love Dave Franco, and it’s interesting that it is a romance. It’s tough!

      I hear you about Steampunk. But we said it here. So when we bring out our fabulous stories we can point to this and say “see, we’re not just latecomers!” 🙂

      And thanks, I’m hoping Alien ‘n’ Outlaw does well. It was sooo much fun.

  2. Kat Merikan · · Reply

    I think that if it’s a good, interesting story, trends won’t matter that much. A book written from true wanting is better than trying to write what you think the public wants.

    (Or I might be biased because I’m interested in zombies myself ;))

    1. Hi Kat (and fellow zombie-phile).
      I’m hoping that you’re right. Because I can’t wait to write this book 🙂

      1. Kat Merikan · ·

        At the moment I’m slowly going through every m/m zombie book I can find 😉

      2. I’ve got some on my TBR, but there’s not too many at the moment… I don’t think.

  3. I think zombies can be either SF or fantasy depending on how they’re made. If they’re raised by a voodoo prietess = fantasy, if they’re humans infected with a virus (like in Feed by Mira Grant) it’s SF.

    1. Hi Nicole! Thanks for stopping by! Yes, you’re probably right about the classification. So, good, SF it is!

Leave a comment